Goldstein Scorecard: B+ (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.
CD vs MYGA, after tax
Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.25%, Aspida WealthLock 3-year, the product on this page (AM Best A-, reaffirmed 9/18/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 1, 2026 (Aspida rate sheet; not sold in New York).
| CD, interest taxed every year | $112,162 |
|---|---|
| MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax | $116,591 |
| MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal | $112,941 |
| Tax deferral alone adds about | $146 |
| MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax | $779 |
Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge.
In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.
| WealthLock MYGA term | $25,000 to $99,999 | $100,000+ |
|---|---|---|
| 2-year | 4.30% | 4.45% |
| 3-year | 5.10% | 5.25% |
| 5-year | 5.65% | 5.80% |
| 7-year | 5.85% | 6.00% |
Source: Aspida WealthLock MYGA rate sheet, form 25017 10/26, last updated 10/01/2026. Rates are subject to change; confirm the rate for your premium band and state on your application date.
Aspida WealthLock 3 is the 3-year term of the WealthLock MYGA series from Aspida Life Insurance Company (Durham, NC). Per Aspida’s rate sheet last updated October 1, 2026, it credits 5.25% a year for premiums of $100,000 or more and 5.10% for $25,000 to $99,999, with a 9%, 8%, 7% withdrawal charge schedule and 10% free withdrawals after the first contract anniversary.
Aspida reports an AM Best rating of A- (Excellent), reaffirmed September 18, 2026.
Correction (October 4, 2026): earlier versions of this page took the 3-year rate (5.00% to 5.15%, effective 9/22/2026) from a third-party site, listed a “WealthLock 10” sibling, said the minimum premium was commonly $5,000 to $10,000, and showed a Fitch rating.
Aspida’s own documents show rates of 5.10% and 5.25% as of 10/01/2026, terms of 2, 3, 5 and 7 years only, a $25,000 minimum premium, and AM Best and KBRA ratings (no Fitch rating is shown). A hypothetical buyer “case study” and unsourced Weiss, COMDEX, renewal and service grades were removed.
| Feature | What Aspida publishes |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Aspida Life Insurance Company, Durham, NC (licensed in 49 states and DC, not New York); distributed by WealthVest |
| Type | Single premium deferred fixed multi-year guaranteed annuity; contract form series ICC22C-MYGA1012 / C-MYGA1012 |
| 3-year rate | 5.25% ($100,000+); 5.10% ($25,000 to $99,999); rate sheet last updated 10/01/2026 |
| Premium | $25,000 minimum, $2,000,000 maximum (more with Aspida’s prior approval); single premium |
| Issue ages | 18 to 90, qualified and non-qualified; maturity age 115 |
| Withdrawal charges, 3-year | Year 1: 9%; Year 2: 8%; Year 3: 7%; then 0%. Aspida notes charges may vary slightly by state |
| Free withdrawal | Up to 10% of contract value a year after the first contract anniversary; interest-only systematic withdrawals after the first 30 days; RMDs from IRAs after 30 days |
| MVA | Yes, positive or negative, on surrenders and excess withdrawals; not on RMDs, free withdrawals or after the charge period |
| Waivers | Nursing home (90 consecutive days, after first anniversary) and terminal illness (death expected within one year, after first anniversary): up to 100% without charge or MVA |
| Death benefit | Full contract value, no withdrawal charge or MVA |
| Rate after the term | Changes after the initial guarantee period but never below the contractual minimum stated in the contract; the minimum is not publicly disclosed |
The best MYGA, CD and savings rates change every few weeks. Get a short email when a rate on this page changes.
We’ll email you when a rate on this page changes. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
| Dimension | Grade | Basis (sourced fact) |
|---|---|---|
| Financial strength | A- | AM Best A- (Excellent), reaffirmed 9/18/2026, and KBRA A- with a positive outlook (Aspida financial professional site). |
| Rate competitiveness | B | The series’ 5-year rate, 5.80% at $100,000+, sits at the low end of the 5.50% to 6.05% A-rated range on 10/14/2026; no verified same-date 3-year benchmark, so the 3-year 5.25% is not graded against peers. |
| Guaranteed floor | Incomplete | The contractual minimum rate after the term is in the contract and not publicly disclosed. |
| Liquidity | B | Short 3-year schedule (9/8/7%), 10% free after year 1, interest withdrawals after 30 days; MVA on excess withdrawals. |
| Costs | A | No annual fee or rider charge is listed; waivers are built in. |
| Transparency | A- | Dated rate sheet, schedule and waivers are posted on aspida.com; minimum rate is not. |
| Overall | B+ | Weighted toward financial strength and the contractual minimum, since a fixed rate is only as good as the insurer paying it. |
Pros
Cons
Fits: money with a 3-year horizon (a maturing CD, a planned purchase, a ladder rung) where the buyer wants a declared rate for the full term from an A- insurer. A MYGA locks a declared rate for the term; this one does it for 3 years.
Look elsewhere if: you need full access inside 3 years, you are investing under $25,000, or you live in New York. Longer terms in the same series pay more (5-year 5.50%, 7-year 6.00% at $100,000+).
For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.50% to 6.05% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.70% to 5.00% APY (MYGAs: public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026; CDs: Bankrate and Popular Direct, October 18, 2026).
Current rates: MYGA rates. Compare terms with the MYGA growth calculator and the MYGA vs CD after-tax calculator. Sibling reviews: Aspida WealthLock MYGA series and Aspida WealthLock 7.
When I check a WealthLock 3 quote, I look at the date on the rate sheet and the premium band first. Aspida’s sheet is banded at $100,000, and a quote of $95,000 lands in the lower band. Then I confirm the state version of the withdrawal charge schedule, since Aspida notes charges may vary slightly by state.
The number buyers most often misread is the free withdrawal. The 10% is available only after the first contract anniversary; in year one you can take credited interest and RMDs, not principal. On the comparison, I set the 3-year 5.25% next to the same series’ 5-year 5.50% and A-rated 5-year MYGAs on the same date, and ask whether the shorter commitment is worth the rate gap.
Hypothetical, from Aspida’s own rate sheet: $100,000 at 5.25% for 3 years with no withdrawals grows to $116,591.
Per Aspida's WealthLock MYGA rate sheet last updated October 1, 2026: 5.25% for premiums of $100,000 or more and 5.10% for $25,000 to $99,999, fixed for the 3-year term.
Withdrawal charges are 9% in year 1, 8% in year 2 and 7% in year 3, then 0%. An MVA can also apply to excess withdrawals and surrenders during that period.
Up to 10% of contract value each year after the first contract anniversary. Interest-only systematic withdrawals are available after the first 30 days, and RMDs from IRAs are not charged.
The minimum premium is $25,000 and the maximum is $2,000,000 (more with Aspida's approval). Issue ages are 18 to 90.
Aspida reports an AM Best Financial Strength Rating of A- (Excellent), reaffirmed September 18, 2026, and a KBRA rating of A- with a positive outlook. Annuities are not FDIC insured; state guaranty associations cover annuities up to limits that vary by state.
No. Aspida is licensed in 49 states and DC but not New York, and products may not be available in all states.
Related: 3-year MYGA rates compared · Is a MYGA from a PE-owned carrier still safe? · MYGA laddering explained · Are annuities FDIC insured?
Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.
MYGAs lock in your rate for the full term. Before you commit, is this carrier's rate actually competitive vs. the full market? Is the rating tradeoff worth it? Before signing, get an independent review of the rate, surrender schedule, and carrier strength.
Send your details. Within one business day you get a written review of your quote, a side-by-side with two alternatives, and a free 15-minute call if you want one.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers
We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.
This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.
Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.