Goldstein Scorecard: C+ (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.
EquiTrust Bridge is a fixed index annuity with a long-term care rider from EquiTrust Life Insurance Company (AM Best B++), sold from age 50. Per EquiTrust's current brochure and flyers (06-26), the LTC benefit base is first-five-years premium times a Coverage Ratio (at age 64: 141%, 216% or 316% by class), growing 3% a year for up to 20 years, paid monthly over up to 60 months without receipts. Benefits can be income tax-free only within IRC 7702B limits.
Update (October 4, 2026): all product terms below were re-read against EquiTrust's current brochure and flyers. New on this page: the contract's Minimum Guaranteed Contract Value (87.5% of premiums, less rider fees and withdrawals, at a rate EquiTrust does not publish) and the terminal illness waiver limit (75% of accumulation value). A Wisconsin issue-age note and an unverified launch-year note were removed.
Correction (September 24, 2026): this page used to describe ~4 to 5% credited interest, a $25,000 minimum, a 2 to 3x benefit pool and 2 to 4 years of benefits. Bridge is index-linked (no fixed credited rate), and EquiTrust's brochure describes up to 60 monthly payments from a Coverage-Ratio benefit base. The unverified figures were removed.
CD vs MYGA, after tax
Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).
| CD, interest taxed every year | $121,081 |
|---|---|
| MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax | $133,507 |
| MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal | $126,136 |
| Tax deferral alone adds about | $674 |
| MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax | $5,055 |
Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge. In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Annuity | Fixed index annuity: tax-deferred, index-linked credits that are never less than zero. Index options include the S&P 500 and the S&P MARC 5% Excess Return Index; current caps and participation rates are not publicly disclosed |
| Issue ages | 50 and older (lowered from 55 on January 1, 2026); maximum issue age varies by state |
| Underwriting | Everyone who passes annuity suitability is approved. A few health questions set your class; some applicants complete a 30-minute video interview. Since June 16, 2026 maximum Coverage Ratios are standard for all clients |
| LTC benefit base | Premiums received in contract years 1 to 5 × your Coverage Ratio, set by issue age and underwriting class |
| Coverage Ratio examples (Preferred / Standard / Secure) | Age 50: 330% / 230% / 155%. Age 64: 316% / 216% / 141%. Age 80: 300% / 200% / 125%. With the inflation option, the Coverage Ratio is 100% |
| Benefit growth | +3% a year for up to 20 years or until claim (2% before January 1, 2026); 5% a year available for an additional fee |
| Payout | Monthly for up to 60 months; amount set at claim. Benefits reduce the accumulation value dollar for dollar and continue after it reaches zero until the benefit base is used |
| Benefit type | Indemnity: no receipts or invoices; family caregivers can be paid; annual physician certification |
| Claim trigger | Unable to perform at least 2 of 6 activities of daily living, or substantial supervision needed for cognitive impairment, per the brochure's definitions |
| Vesting | Claims starting in contract years 1 to 4 pay 20%, 40%, 60%, 80% of the Net Amount at Risk (benefit base above accumulation value); 100% after |
| Costs | Monthly LTC rider fee from the accumulation value; 1% premium load on first-year premium; $100 annual NeverStop wellness program fee |
| Surrender charges | 10 years: 9, 8, 7, 6.5, 5.5, 4.5, 3.5, 2.5, 1.5, 0.5% of accumulation value (may vary by state), plus an MVA (not in DE or WA) |
| Free withdrawals and waivers | 10% of accumulation value a year after the first contract year. Nursing home or hospital confinement of 90 consecutive days: charges waived from year 2. Terminal illness: charges waived on up to 75% of accumulation value |
| Minimum Guaranteed Contract Value | At least 87.5% of premiums, less LTC rider fees and partial withdrawals, accumulated at the Minimum Guaranteed Contract Rate (rate not published; ask for it) |
| Death benefit | Full accumulation value to beneficiaries. The benefit base has no cash value |
| Carrier ratings | AM Best B++ (Good), Fitch A- (Strong), S&P A- (Strong), as shown on EquiTrust's financial strength page October 4, 2026 (the page gives no rating dates) |
Your underwriting class is the big lever. Hypothetical: on $50,000 at age 64, the starting benefit base is $70,500 at Secure (141%), $108,000 at Standard (216%) or $158,000 at Preferred (316%), before the 3% yearly growth. Spread over 60 months, a $108,000 base is $1,800 a month; the first part of every benefit is your own accumulation value.
Send your email and I'll send you what this product actually guarantees, what the surrender schedule really costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.
We’ll email it to you. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
Plain English, for non-IRA money unless noted. This is education, not tax advice; check your situation with a tax professional.
| Dimension | Grade | Basis (sourced fact) |
|---|---|---|
| Financial strength | C+ | AM Best B++ (Good); Fitch A- and S&P A- (EquiTrust ratings page, undated, checked October 4, 2026). |
| Rate or cap competitiveness | Incomplete | Current caps and participation rates are not publicly disclosed. The design's value is the LTC multiple (Coverage Ratio), not the crediting rate. |
| Guaranteed floor | C | Minimum Guaranteed Contract Value of 87.5% of premiums, less rider fees and withdrawals, at an unpublished minimum rate. The LTC benefit base grows a contractual 3% a year for up to 20 years. |
| Liquidity | C | 10-year surrender schedule from 9%, MVA (not DE or WA), 10% free after year 1, confinement and terminal illness waivers. |
| Costs | C | 1% first-year premium load, $100 a year wellness fee, and a monthly rider fee whose rate is set in the illustration rather than published. |
| Transparency | B | Coverage Ratios by age and class, surrender schedule, vesting and fee types are public and dated. Crediting rates and rider fee rates are not. |
| LTC benefit design | B | No-receipt monthly benefits, family caregivers allowed, approval for anyone who passes suitability; full benefits need four years to vest. |
| Overall | C+ | A practical way to turn annuity money into LTC coverage for people who may not qualify elsewhere, from a B++ carrier, with fees and rates you must get in writing. |
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Anyone who passes annuity suitability is approved; health questions only set the class. | Full LTC benefits take four years to vest (20% in year 1). |
| Coverage Ratios up to 330% of first-five-years premium, plus 3% yearly growth. | Monthly benefits use up your own accumulation value first. |
| No-receipt monthly benefits that can pay family caregivers. | Per diem benefits are excluded from income only up to $430 a day (2026) or actual qualified costs. |
| Unused LTC benefits leave the full accumulation value to beneficiaries. | 10-year surrender schedule plus MVA in most states; 1% premium load and $100 annual fee. |
| Brochure discloses an 87.5% Minimum Guaranteed Contract Value. | AM Best B++ is below the A range many buyers screen for. |
Fits:
Look elsewhere if:
Run the numbers: annuity surrender charge calculator and annuity calculator. Related reviews: hybrid LTC annuities explained, OneAmerica Asset Care, EquiTrust MarketPower and long-term care reviews.
On an annuity with an LTC rider, I check the Coverage Ratio and the vesting schedule first, then the monthly rider fee in dollars. Those three tell me how much of the benefit is really insurance and how much is the buyer's own money coming back.
The number buyers misread most on this product type is the benefit base. A $158,000 base on a $50,000 premium does not mean $158,000 of insurance: the first $50,000 or more is your accumulation value, paid back to you. The insured part is the Net Amount at Risk above that, and in the first four years only part of it is vested.
Against a MYGA, I ask what the money is for. If it is earmarked for care, the MYGA has no LTC multiple at all. If it is not, I compare the MYGA's declared rate with Bridge's guaranteed values, net of the 1% load, the $100 fee and the rider fee.
Hans Goldstein, independent licensed insurance producer, CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398. Not affiliated with EquiTrust. No carrier paid for this review.
A fixed index annuity from EquiTrust Life Insurance Company with a Long-Term Care Rider and the NeverStop wellness program. The annuity earns index-linked credits that are never less than zero; the rider pays monthly long-term care benefits for up to 60 months if you qualify.
The LTC Benefit Base equals premiums received in contract years 1 to 5 times a Coverage Ratio set by issue age and underwriting class. At issue age 64 the ratios are 316% (Preferred), 216% (Standard) and 141% (Secure), per EquiTrust's Coverage Ratios flyer (06-26). The base grows 3% a year for up to 20 years or until a claim; with the 5% inflation option the Coverage Ratio is 100%.
Yes. A claim that starts in contract years 1 to 4 pays 20%, 40%, 60% or 80% of the Net Amount at Risk (the benefit base above your accumulation value), and 100% after that. Your own accumulation value is always available.
A monthly LTC rider fee deducted from the accumulation value, a 1% premium load on first-year premium and a $100 annual NeverStop wellness fee, per EquiTrust's fees flyer (01-26). Surrender charges run 10 years, from 9% down to 0.5%, plus an MVA except in DE and WA.
They can be, with conditions. For non-IRA money, benefits from a tax-qualified LTC rider under IRC 7702B are excluded from income when the claim meets the qualified-care rules. Because Bridge pays without receipts, the exclusion is capped at the IRS per diem limit ($430 a day for 2026, Rev. Proc. 2025-32) or your actual qualified care costs if higher. Inside an IRA, benefits generally come out as taxable distributions.
Since January 1, 2026 the minimum issue age is 50 (it was 55). Everyone who passes annuity suitability is approved; health questions only set the class (Secure, Standard or Preferred), and some applicants complete a 30-minute video interview. Availability and maximum issue age vary by state.
EquiTrust's financial strength page, checked October 4, 2026, shows AM Best B++ (Good), Fitch A- (Strong) and S&P A- (Strong) for EquiTrust Life Insurance Company. The page does not give rating dates.
Figures are copied from the sources named, as of the dates shown; confirm current terms and rates with the issuer before you buy. MYGA figures are market benchmarks, not quotes.
Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.
An annuity with an LTC rider ties up a large premium for years. Before you sign, check that the Coverage Ratio and the four-year vesting fit your plans, and whether a §1035 exchange from an old policy could fund it. I'll go through it with you before you commit.
Send your details. Within one business day you get a written review of your quote, a side-by-side with two alternatives, and a free 15-minute call if you want one.
Weighing this annuity against others? Request a free, independent second opinion on the quote you have before you sign.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers
We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.
This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.
Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.