Goldstein Scorecard: Incomplete (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.
F&G Prosperity Elite 14 is the 14-year version of F&G’s Prosperity Elite fixed indexed annuity, and “enhancement” is its built-in base package: a lump sum death benefit plus a vesting bonus, for 0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit.
Per F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025), the vesting bonus is 7% for ages 0 to 70, surrender charges start at 14.75%, an MVA applies in most states, and it is not sold in CA, TX, FL (65+) or 21 other jurisdictions. AM Best: A, per F&G.
Correction: an earlier version of this page said the “Enhancement” version has no bonus, an 8.50% S&P 500 cap as of June 7, 2026, issue ages 0 to 80, and that “Protection” is a lower-cap version with no fee. F&G’s guide (rev.
09-2025) shows the enhancement package is the automatic base package (death benefit plus a 7% or 4% vesting bonus, for 0.60% a year), and the protection package is an optional rider that adds 0.35% of the income base.
The cap, the ranking claims, Weiss, KBRA and COMDEX scores, and the case studies had no primary source and were removed. F&G’s ratings page shows Moody’s A3, not Baa1.
CD vs MYGA, after tax
Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).
| CD, interest taxed every year | $121,081 |
|---|---|
| MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax | $133,507 |
| MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal | $126,136 |
| Tax deferral alone adds about | $674 |
| MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax | $5,055 |
Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge.
In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.
Every Prosperity Elite contract (7, 10 and 14-year versions) comes with the enhancement package: a lump sum death benefit and a vesting bonus on first-year premium.
The optional protection package adds an enhanced guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefit (lifetime income) and an enhanced death benefit that heirs can take over time, and it raises the vesting bonus. F&G calls the protection package its most popular option with Prosperity Elite clients.
Lifetime income guarantees are backed by the claims-paying ability of Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company.
| Charge | Amount | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Enhancement package (death benefit + vesting bonus) | 0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit amount, each contract anniversary | Every contract (automatic) |
| Protection package (EGMWB + EGMDB rider) | Additional 0.35% of the income base a year | Only if you elect it |
| Index option rider with a fee | 1.25% | Only if you elect one; F&G says these may offer higher caps, higher participation or lower spreads |
| Surrender charge and MVA | See the surrender schedule on this page | Withdrawals above the free amount during the surrender period |
| Prosperity Elite 14 | Enhancement (base), ages 0 to 70 | Enhancement, ages 71 to 85 | With protection package, ages 0 to 70 | With protection package, ages 71 to 85 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All states where approved | 7.00% | 4.00% | 14.00% | 7.50% |
The bonus vests over the 14-year surrender period, so leaving early forfeits the unvested part, and the 10% free withdrawal is measured on the vested account value. F&G’s guide notes that annuities with bonus features may have higher fees and charges, longer surrender periods or lower rates than annuities without them. Background: is an annuity premium bonus good or bad?
| Contract year | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| States where approved | 14.75% | 13.75% | 12.75% | 11.75% | 10.75% | 10% | 9% | 8% | 7% | 6% | 5% | 4% | 3% | 2% | 0% |
Model your exit cost in the annuity surrender charge calculator.
| Feature | Prosperity Elite 14 |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company, Des Moines, IA |
| Type | Flexible premium, deferred fixed indexed annuity with a minimum guaranteed surrender value |
| Availability | Not available in AK, AL, CA, CT, DE, FL (65+), ID, IN, MA, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, SC, TX, UT or WA |
| Crediting | A fixed interest option (rate set annually, not below 1%) and index options on the Balanced Asset 5 Index, Barclays Trailblazer Sectors 5 Index, Gold Commodity, GS Global Factor Index and S&P 500 Index, each subject to caps, participation rates and/or spreads |
| Free withdrawal | 10% of the vested account value a year, starting in year 2 |
| MVA | With any surrender charge, except in AK, AL, CT, ID, IL, IN, MN, MO, MS, MT, OR, PA, PR and WA |
| Health access | Home health care, nursing home care and terminal illness access to the total account value without surrender charges or MVA, subject to conditions (not available in MA) |
| RMDs | Surrender charges and MVA waived on RMD withdrawals above the free amount |
| Protection package income terms | 18% bonus on first-year premium to the income base, 10% compound annual roll-up, payments from the later of age 50 and one year after issue, impairment multiplier up to double the payment if unable to perform 2 of 6 activities of daily living (state variations apply) |
| Issue ages | Bonus table covers ages 0 to 85 (maximum issue age in IN is 80); minimum premium not stated in the guide |
| Maturity | If you hold the contract to its maturity date, it must be annuitized then |
| Agent pay | F&G says it pays the selling professional, factors that into contract pricing, and does not deduct it from premium |
Current caps, participation rates and spreads are not publicly disclosed by F&G. Ask for the current rate sheet with its effective date for your state before you sign.
Send your email and I'll send you what this product actually guarantees, what the surrender schedule really costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.
We’ll email it to you. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
| Dimension | Grade | Basis (sourced fact) |
|---|---|---|
| Financial strength | B+ | AM Best A (Stable) as of 3/2026; S&P A- (9/2025), Fitch A- (10/2025), Moody’s A3 (10/2025), per F&G’s ratings page. |
| Rate or cap competitiveness | Incomplete | F&G publishes no current Prosperity Elite caps, participation rates or spreads. |
| Guaranteed floor | Incomplete | Fixed option floor 1% is public; minimum index caps are not publicly disclosed. F&G's rate page (F&G product interest rates dated April 9, 2026, posted by CreativeOne) footnotes 100% minimum participation and 3.5% to 5% maximum spreads on the 2-year strategies. |
| Liquidity | D | Fourteen years, from 14.75%; free withdrawal is 10% of the vested account value from year 2; MVA in most states. |
| Costs | C | 0.60% a year enhancement charge on every contract; optional 0.35% of income base for the protection package; optional 1.25% index rider. |
| Transparency | C | Fees, bonus percentages, surrender schedules and state limits are public; current rates and index minimums are not. |
| Complexity | C | Two packages, a vesting bonus, an income base that is not cash, state-specific schedules and an MVA. |
| Guaranteed minimum cap | Not publicly disclosed | The current F&G Prosperity Elite Statement of Understanding ADV2948 (Rev. 09-2025) gives no number. An older form, the 2020 Statement of Understanding ADV1635 (Rev. 02-2020, posted by a broker), listed 1.00% (secondary, older version). |
| Maximum spread | 3.5% to 5% | 2-year spread strategies, F&G product interest rates dated April 9, 2026, posted by CreativeOne. |
| Minimum participation rate | 100% (2-year strategies) | 2-year spread strategies; no stated minimum on the 1-year participation strategies (F&G product interest rates dated April 9, 2026, posted by CreativeOne). |
| Overall | Incomplete | Weighted toward financial strength, guaranteed floor and liquidity for a buyer who wants a known result. |
How these contract minimums compare across products: guaranteed minimum caps across FIAs (October 2026).
Get the current numbers for your amountor call 213-414-2808
Fits: a buyer in a state where it is sold who can leave the money for a full 14 years, wants the largest Prosperity Elite vesting bonus and the built-in death benefit, and accepts a 0.60% a year charge for them.
Look elsewhere if:
Run the numbers: annuity surrender charge calculator and annuity calculator. Related reviews: F&G Prosperity Elite 10, F&G Power Accumulator, income riders compared and how annuity crediting actually works.
When I review a Prosperity Elite illustration, I first check which package it shows. The enhancement package is on every contract and costs 0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit; the protection package adds 0.35% of the income base. I add both to the illustrated return before I compare anything.
The number buyers misread most on this product type is the income base. A 10% compound roll-up and an 18% bonus apply to the income base, which is only used to calculate rider payments; it is not cash and cannot be surrendered. The figure that matters is the guaranteed annual income in dollars at the age you plan to start.
Against a MYGA, I set the guaranteed surrender value by year next to a MYGA compounding at its declared rate for the same term. With an annual package charge and a 14-year surrender schedule, the FIA has to do clearly better on reasonable index assumptions to be worth the trade.
Talk to a licensed annuity expert. Hans.
F&G Prosperity Elite 14 Enhancement might be the right call. There might also be a better-fit option at your specific premium and age. The only way to know: run the numbers side-by-side.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398
We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.
A 14-year flexible premium deferred fixed indexed annuity from Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company. Every contract includes the “enhancement” package (a lump sum death benefit and a vesting bonus) for 0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit; an optional “protection” package adds lifetime income features for 0.35% of the income base.
It is the base package that every Prosperity Elite contract includes automatically: a lump sum death benefit and a vesting bonus, charged at 0.60% of the highest guaranteed death benefit amount on each contract anniversary, per F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025). It is not a separate higher-cap version.
14.75%, 13.75%, 12.75%, 11.75%, 10.75%, 10%, 9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3% and 2% in years 1 to 14, then 0%, per F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025). An MVA also applies with any surrender charge except in AK, AL, CT, ID, IL, IN, MN, MO, MS, MT, OR, PA, PR and WA.
It is a vesting bonus on first-year premium, vesting over 14 years: 7.00% for ages 0 to 70 and 4.00% for 71 to 85 on the base package, or 14.00% and 7.50% with the protection package, per F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025). F&G calls these current percentages, subject to change.
Yes, optionally. The protection package adds an enhanced guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefit and enhanced death benefit for 0.35% of the income base a year, with an 18% bonus on first-year premium to the income base and a 10% compound annual roll-up. Payments can start at the later of age 50 and one year after issue. The income base is not cash and cannot be withdrawn.
F&G does not publish current Prosperity Elite caps, participation rates or spreads on its public site (checked October 4, 2026). The guide says the fixed interest option is guaranteed not to be below 1%. Ask for the dated rate sheet for your state.
F&G’s ratings page lists AM Best A with a Stable outlook as of 3/2026, S&P A- (9/2025), Fitch A- (10/2025) and Moody’s A3 (10/2025). Contract guarantees are backed by the claims-paying ability of Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company.
MYGA and CD benchmark: public carrier rate sheets (MYGAs, October 14, 2026) and DepositAccounts (CDs, September 24, 2026).
Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398). Not affiliated with F&G. No carrier paid for this review. Figures are copied from the carrier documents named, with their dates; they change and vary by state. Confirm current terms in the latest disclosure and the contract before buying.
This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.
Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.