HANS GOLDSTEINFind my fit
Annuity Review Carrier: Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America AM Best: A+ Last updated: 2026-09-24
⯨
4.6/5
Hans’s overall rating reflects AM Best A+ financial strength and this independent review’s findings.

Allianz Essential Income 7 Review (September 2026): Rates, the 1.05% Benefit Charge and How Income Works

Hans Goldstein, licensed insurance producerWritten & reviewed by , independent licensed insurance producer · CA license 4273294 · NPN 20602398
Admitted to practice before the IRS
Rates verified on Allianz's rates page (as of 09/01/2026) · Updated

Allianz Essential Income 7 is a 7-year fixed index annuity built for lifetime income. On Allianz's rates page current as of September 1, 2026, it pays 2.60% fixed or up to a 4.00% S&P 500 cap, with a 1.05% annual benefit charge for the Essential Income Benefit. Income can start at 50, and the withdrawal percentage rises each year from 45 until you start. Surrender charges run 8.5% down to 3% over 7 years.

Contract minimums (checked October 4, 2026): guaranteed minimum cap 3.00% on the annual point-to-point cap for contract years 1 to 7, then 0.25%; minimum participation rate: not publicly disclosed; maximum spread: not publicly disclosed; bailout: none found in public documents. Source: Allianz Essential Income 7 rates page (checked October 4, 2026). These contractual minimums are backed by the claims-paying ability of Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America. To see how this floor compares with other fixed indexed annuities, read guaranteed minimum caps across FIAs (October 2026).

CD vs MYGA, after tax

What $100,000 earns in 5 years: CD vs MYGA, after tax

Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).

CD, interest taxed every year$121,081
MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax$133,507
MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal$126,136
Tax deferral alone adds about$674
MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax$5,055

Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge. In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.

Current rates (Allianz, as of 09/01/2026)

Source: Allianz Essential Income 7 rates page, “Current rates as of: 09/01/2026” (M-7252). Participation rate is 100% unless noted. New and pending applications get a 60-day rate lock.
ItemRate
Essential Income Benefit annual charge1.05%
Fixed interest2.60%
S&P 500 annual point-to-point, cap4.00%
Bloomberg US Dynamic Balance Index II annual point-to-point, cap3.75%
Minimum cap / minimum fixed rate, years 1-73.00% / 1.00%

Net of the 1.05% charge, a year at the 4.00% cap credits less than 3% to accumulation value. That is the point: Essential Income 7 is built for the income it guarantees, not for growth.

Free second opinion

Is the annuity you're looking at actually the best one available?

Send your email and I'll send what it really guarantees, what the surrender schedule costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

We’ll email it to you. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.

How the income works

Surrender schedule

Source: Allianz Essential Income 7 product page. A market value adjustment also applies during the first 7 years.
Year12345678+
Withdrawal charge8.5%8.0%7.0%6.0%5.0%4.0%3.0%0%

Correction: an earlier version of this page called Allianz Life a mutual company. Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America is a stock company owned by Allianz SE.

Compare before you buy

If income is needed now, an immediate annuity usually pays more per dollar than a rider. If the goal is a known rate, a MYGA has no rider charge. For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.50% to 6.05% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.70% to 5.00% APY (MYGAs: public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026; CDs: Bankrate and Popular Direct, October 18, 2026).

Current MYGA rates · Annuity vs CD · Best 5-year MYGA rates

Frequently asked questions

What are Allianz Essential Income 7 rates?

Allianz's rates page, current as of 09/01/2026: fixed interest 2.60%, S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap 4.00%, Bloomberg US Dynamic Balance Index II cap 3.75%, and a 1.05% annual benefit charge for the Essential Income Benefit.

What does the Essential Income Benefit cost?

1.05% a year. The charge on the guaranteed minimum value is 1.05% for all years; the charge on accumulation value is 1.05% in year 1, can change in years 2-7 but never above 2.50%, and returns to 1.05% after year 7. It continues after lifetime income starts.

When can income start on Essential Income 7?

As early as age 50. From age 45 the lifetime withdrawal percentage rises each year until you start income.

What is the Essential Income 7 surrender schedule?

8.5%, 8.0%, 7.0%, 6.0%, 5.0%, 4.0%, 3.0%, then 0% from year 8, plus a market value adjustment during the first 7 years.

Is Essential Income 7 the same as Allianz 222 or Core Income 7?

No. Allianz lists Allianz 222, Core Income 7 and Essential Income 7 as separate fixed index annuities with different riders, bonuses and surrender periods. This page covers Essential Income 7 only.

What are the guaranteed minimums?

Minimum annual cap 3.00% and minimum fixed rate 1.00% for the first seven contract years; after year 7 the cap can go as low as 0.25% and the fixed rate as low as 0.10%.

Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398). Not affiliated with Allianz. Rates are copied from the carrier documents named, with their effective dates; they change often and vary by state and premium. Confirm current rates and read the contract and disclosure before buying. Examples labelled hypothetical are illustrations, not quotes.

Hans Goldstein, NPN 20602398

Quoted Essential Income 7? Get the income math checked

Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.

Send the illustration. You get the income at your start age, the rider cost in dollars, and what an immediate annuity or MYGA pays on the same money.

Send your details. Within one business day you get a written side-by-side sized to your dollar amount, and a free 15-minute call if you want one.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.

Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers

We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.

Disclosure

This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.

📞 Call Hans · 213-414-2808
Get a second opinion Call 213-414-2808

Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.