A fixed indexed annuity's cap is set by the insurer and can be lowered at each renewal, down to a contractual minimum written into the contract. Of 99 fixed indexed annuities whose public documents state a numeric minimum annual cap, 86 (87%) let the insurer lower that cap to 1.00% or less, and 36 to 0.50% or less. Across 74 products with a 2026-dated S&P 500 one-year cap, the median cap was 8.12% and the median contractual minimum was 1.00% (public documents checked October 4, 2026).
Send your email and I'll send a plain-English read on its contract minimums, what the surrender schedule costs you, and what a fixed-rate MYGA pays on the same dollars. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.
Email only. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
Of 99 fixed indexed annuities whose public documents state a numeric minimum annual cap, 86 (87%) let the insurer lower that cap to 1.00% or less, and 36 to 0.50% or less. Those 99 products come from 33 insurers. The cap you see on an illustration is the rate for the first term; after that, the insurer declares a new cap each term, and the contract lets it go as low as the minimum below.
| Lowest the insurer can set the cap | Products | Share |
|---|---|---|
| 0.50% or less | 36 | 36% |
| Above 0.50% to 1.00% | 50 | 51% |
| Above 1.00% to 2.00% | 10 | 10% |
| Above 2.00% | 3 | 3% |
| Total with a published numeric minimum | 99 | 100% |
The gap is wide. Across 74 products with a 2026-dated S&P 500 one-year cap and a stated minimum for that strategy, the median current cap was 8.12% and the median contractual minimum was 1.00%, an average of 6.66 percentage points of room to cut. The same products state similar floors elsewhere: the minimum participation rate is 5% to 15% on most, and the fixed-account minimum is 0.25% or less on many. For how caps, participation rates and spreads turn index changes into credited interest, see how annuity crediting actually works.
What we measured. For each fixed indexed annuity (FIA) and each crediting strategy, the contractual minimum the insurer may set: the minimum cap, the minimum participation rate, the maximum spread or margin, the minimum fixed-account rate, and any bailout provision. These minimums are contractual: they are backed by the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer, not by the FDIC or any government agency.
Sources. Insurers' public rate pages and their footnotes, client disclosures and allocation forms, statements of understanding, specimen contracts, and SEC prospectuses (EDGAR). Each row of the CSV carries the source URL, a short verbatim quote, the form number where one exists, and the date checked. The state filing system SERFF (filingaccess.serff.com) was unavailable for every state we tried (login wall, 403 or 404 errors), so no SERFF filing was used.
Confidence grades. Verified: a public document from the insurer, the SEC, or a public broker page reproducing the insurer's document states the number. Partial (secondary source): the number comes from a secondary rate service (mostly AnnuityRatesHQ, which republishes CANNEX data) or from an older version of the form; treat these as provisional. Numbers found only in documents marked for agent or producer use are not published here; where that is the only source, the table says "producer-only document, not published". Products with no number found are listed as publishing no numeric minimum.
Coverage. 153 FIA product rows from 40 insurers, plus 25 RILA product rows. Site-specific or retired names that do not match a real product were dropped. Current caps are the most recent published rate we found and carry their own effective date; minimums are as stated in the cited document. Your own contract governs: a contract keeps the minimums printed in the version you were issued, so an older contract can differ from today's disclosure.
Counting rule. One row per product (product variants are split only when their minimums differ). A product counts when a public, verified or secondary-source document states a numeric minimum for an annual (one-year or multi-year term) cap; monthly caps are reported separately and not counted. Where a product has several cap strategies or phases, the lowest stated annual-cap minimum is used, including a lower minimum that applies after the surrender period. Numbers that appear only in material marked for agents are not counted and not shown. Registered index-linked annuities (RILAs) are reported in their own section. On verified primary documents alone, 57 of 62 products (92%) are at 1.00% or less.
Read each row as "today the insurer pays X; the contract lets it pay as little as Y." Blank cells mean the public document we found did not state that item. Monthly-cap minimums are shown in parentheses. Scroll the table sideways on a phone.
| Insurer | Owner (ownership type) | Product | S&P 500 1-yr cap (effective date) | Contractual minimum cap | Min. participation | Max. spread | Fixed account min. | Bailout | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz 222 Annuity (C54370, Oregon-only for new sales) | 5.50% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz 222 Annuity (older issues, pre-MY methods) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz 222+ Annuity (C64997) | 5.50% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz 360 Annuity | 5.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz 360 Annuity (older issues) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz 365i Annuity (retired, in-force only) | not found | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Accumulation Advantage 5 Annuity (C64997) | 10.75% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Accumulation Advantage 7 Annuity (C64997) | 9.75% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Accumulation Advantage Annuity (C64237) | 8.75% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Accumulation Advantage Annuity (older issues / National) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Accumulation Advantage Classic Annuity (C64997) | 9.25% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Accumulation Advantage+ Annuity (C64997) | 6.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Benefit Control Annuity (C64237, Oregon-only) | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Benefit Control+ Annuity (C64997) | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Core Income 7 Annuity | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 5.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Essential Income 7 Annuity (C61892-02-MVA) | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (3.00% years 1-7; 0.25% after) | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | ||
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Retirement Foundation ADV Annuity | 4.50% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | ||
| American Equity | Brookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | American Equity AssetShield 5/7/10 | 9.25% (2026-09-02) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 0.50% | Rate Integrity Rider: waiver rate set at issue | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American Equity | Brookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | American Equity IncomeShield 7/10/Bonus 10 | 5.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-05-06) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 0.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American General Life (Corebridge Financial) | Corebridge Financial, Inc. Public stock · source | Corebridge Power Select Builder | 10.50% (2026-10-01) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 9.50% | 1.00% | none found | adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com | Verified |
| American General Life (Corebridge Financial) | Corebridge Financial, Inc. Public stock · source | Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Flex) | 3.50% (2026-10-01) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 9.50% | 1.00% | none found | adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com | Verified |
| American General Life (Corebridge Financial) | Corebridge Financial, Inc. Public stock · source | Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Multiplier Flex) | 2.70% (2026-10-01) | 1.50% (2.00% (years 1-10), 1.50% (11+)) | 7.00% | 8.00% | 1.00% | none found | adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com | Verified |
| American National | Brookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | ANICO Strategy Indexed Annuity PLUS (older series) | not found | 0.10% | 10.00% | 3.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American National | Brookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Smart Start Accumulator Plus (10-yr; 5-yr version too) | 5.20% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 3.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American National | Brookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Strategy Indexed Annuity PLUS 7 / PLUS 10 (ASIA PLUS) | 7.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 10.00% | 3.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Americo | Americo Life, Inc. (privately held) Other · source | Americo Elite 5 | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | americo.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Americo | Americo Life, Inc. (privately held) Other · source | Growth Commander 6 / 10 | 7.85% (2026-08-29) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 0.15% | none found | growthcommanderfia.com | Verified | |
| Ameritas | Ameritas Mutual Holding Company Mutual · source | ApexAdvantage Index Annuity (10-yr MSPDA) | not found | producer-only document, not published | 10.00% | 2.00% | none found | legacynet.com | Verified | |
| AmFirst Insurance Company | AmFirst Holdings, Inc. Other · source | Trailhead FIA 5/7/10 (and Trailhead FIA PLUS) | not found | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.40% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Aspida | Ares Management Corporation PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Synergy Choice Bonus | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Aspida | Ares Management Corporation PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Synergy Choice Income | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Aspida | Ares Management Corporation PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Synergy Choice Max 10 | 10.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | S&P cap bailout, rate set at issue | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Agility 10 | 5.50% (2026-08-28) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 0.50%, equal to the floor | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Agility 7 | 5.25% (2026-08-28) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 0.50%, equal to the floor | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Ascent Pro 10 | 7.25% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 1.00% (S&P 1-yr cap) | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Ascent Pro 10 Bonus | 5.50% (2026-08-28) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 1.00% (S&P 1-yr cap) | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Ascent Pro 7 | 6.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 1.00% | 3.00% (S&P 1-yr cap) | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Performance Elite 10 / Performance Elite Plus 10 | 5.50% (2026-09-25) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Performance Elite 15 / Performance Elite Plus 15 | 7.00% (2026-09-25) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Performance Elite 7 / Performance Elite Plus 7 | 9.75% (2026-09-25) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Atlantic Coast Life | Advantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held Other · source | Safe Anchor (5-yr FIA) | 4.10% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 100% | 2.40% | none found | aclico.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Delaware Life | Group 1001 (controlled by Mark R. Walter) Other · source | Delaware Life Growth Pathway 5/7 | not found | no numeric minimum published | Bailout cap rate on S&P 1-yr cap | cdn.bfldr.com | Verified | |||
| EquiTrust | Amistad Financial Group, LLC Other · source | EquiTrust MarketEdge Bonus Index | 6.75% (2026-09-15) | 1.00% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | agents.equitrust.com | Verified | |
| EquiTrust | Amistad Financial Group, LLC Other · source | EquiTrust MarketForce Bonus Index | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | agents.equitrust.com | Verified | ||
| EquiTrust | Amistad Financial Group, LLC Other · source | EquiTrust MarketPower Bonus Index | 8.25% (2026-09-15) | 1.00% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | agents.equitrust.com | Verified | |
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) Public stock · source | F&G Flex Accumulator | 7.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-09) | no numeric minimum published | 20.00% | 10.00% | none found | info.creativeone.com | Verified | |
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) Public stock · source | F&G Power Accumulator 7/10 | not found | no numeric minimum published | 15.00% | 15.00% | 1.00% | none found | info.creativeone.com | Verified |
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) Public stock · source | F&G Prosperity Elite 7/10/14 | 6.50% (latest public sheet found: 2025-11-14) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 100% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityresources.com | Partial (secondary source) |
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) Public stock · source | F&G Safe Income Advantage | not found | no numeric minimum published | 100% | 10.00% | none found | info.creativeone.com | Verified | |
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) Public stock · source | F&G Safe Income Plus | not found | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 100% | 1.00% | none found | annuityresources.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) Public stock · source | FG Accumulator Plus 10 (2011-2013 form, API-1018) | not found | monthly cap 3.00%; no annual cap floor published | none found | yigagents.com | Partial (secondary source) | |||
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) Public stock · source | FG AccumulatorPlus 7/10 | 8.50% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-09) | 1.00% (1.00% (2019 statement of understanding); 3% (2013 version)) (monthly cap 1.00%) | 10.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityresources.com | Partial (secondary source) |
| Forethought Life (Global Atlantic) | KKR & Co. Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Forethought ForeAccumulation II | 10.25% (2026-09-28) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 15.00% | 0.50% | none found | veritas-solutions.net | Verified |
| Forethought Life (Global Atlantic) | KKR & Co. Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Forethought ForeIncome II | 5.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-27) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 15.00% | 0.50% | Per strategy, e.g. 3.00% (S&P cap) | veritas-solutions.net | Verified |
| Integrity Life (Western & Southern) | Western & Southern Mutual Holding Company Mutual · source | Indextra Series (5/7/10-yr) | 8.50% (2026-09-15) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 2.50% | none found | accessful.com | Verified | |
| Integrity Life (Western & Southern) | Western & Southern Mutual Holding Company Mutual · source | JourneyMark (10-yr; JM7/JM5 also offer GS Mariner) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 4.00% | 2.50% | none found | accessful.com | Verified | |
| Jackson National | Jackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN) Public stock · source | MarketProtector (5/7-yr) | 7.75% (2026-10-05) | 1.00% (1.00% / 1.05% / 1.10%) | 10.00% | 10.00% | 2.40% | none found | jackson.com | Verified |
| Jackson National | Jackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN) Public stock · source | MarketProtector Advisory (5/7/10-yr) | 9.10% (2026-10-05) | 1.00% (1.00% / 1.05% / 1.10%) | 10.00% | 10.00% | 2.40% | none found | jackson.com | Verified |
| Jackson National | Jackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN) Public stock · source | MarketProtector III (Morgan Stanley distribution) | not found | 2.00% (2.00% (5-yr) / 3.00% (7/10-yr)) | 2.40% | none found | jackson.com | Verified | ||
| Life Insurance Company of the Southwest | National Life Holding Company (mutual holding company) Mutual · source | FIT Secure Growth (flexible premium FIA) | not found | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | 403bcompare.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) Public stock · source | Lincoln Core Capital | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) Public stock · source | Lincoln Covered Choice 5 II | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) Public stock · source | Lincoln OptiBlend 10 | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) Public stock · source | Lincoln OptiBlend 5 | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) Public stock · source | Lincoln OptiBlend 5/7/10 (2022-2023 issues) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 5.00% | 20.00% | 0.10% | none found | lincolnfinancial.com | Verified |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) Public stock · source | Lincoln OptiBlend 7 | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| MassMutual Ascend | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) Mutual · source | MassMutual Ascend American Legend 7 | 10.00% (2026-09-21) | 2.40% | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified | |
| MassMutual Ascend | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) Mutual · source | MassMutual Ascend Index Protector 7 | 10.00% (latest public sheet found: 2025-11-21) | 2.40% | 5.00% | 2.40% | none found | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified | |
| MassMutual Ascend | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) Mutual · source | MassMutual Ascend Premier Income Bonus | not found | 2.40% | 5.00% | 2.40% | none found | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified | |
| Midland National | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | MNL Endeavor 8 | 9.60% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 25.00% | 0.25% | none found | midlandnational.com | Verified |
| Nassau | Nassau Financial Group (majority owned by Golden Gate Capital) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Nassau Growth Annuity (7/10-yr) | 10.50% (2026-10-02) | 0.75% | 5.00% | 2.35% | none found | assets.nfg.com | Verified | |
| National Western | JAB Holding Company (JAB Insurance) Other · source | NWL Ultra Classic (FPDA) | not found | 1.00% | 20.00% | 6.00% | 1.00% | none found | eapp.nationalwesternlife.com | Verified |
| National Western | JAB Holding Company (JAB Insurance) Other · source | NWL Ultra Future (FPDA, 9-yr) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 20.00% | 6.00% | 1.00% | none found | eapp.nationalwesternlife.com | Verified |
| New York Life | New York Life Insurance Company Mutual · source | New York Life IndexFlex Fixed Annuity-FP Series (5/7-yr) | 10.00% (2026-10-05) | 0.50% (1.00% / 0.50%) | 0.05% | none found | assets.newyorklife.com | Verified | ||
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | NAC VersaChoice 10 | 10.10% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 15.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified |
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | North American Charter Plus 10 | 6.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | North American Charter Plus 14 | 6.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | North American Charter Plus 14 (California fee version) | not found | 0.50% | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | North American Secure Horizon | not found | 0.50% | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | northamericancompany.com | Verified | |
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | North American Secure Horizon Plus | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | northamericancompany.com | Verified | |
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) Other · source | Performance Choice 8 | 8.90% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 15.00% | 0.25% | none found | northamericancompany.com | Verified |
| Oceanview | Bayview Asset Management (via Bayview Opportunity V Oceanview L.P.) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Harbourview Fixed Indexed Annuity (3/5/7/10-yr, MVA) | 8.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Oceanview | Bayview Asset Management (via Bayview Opportunity V Oceanview L.P.) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Harbourview Fixed Indexed Annuity 10 (MVA) | not found | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Protective | Dai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc. Foreign parent · source | Protective Asset Builder II | not found | no numeric minimum published | 2.55% | none found | delivery-p102752-e1161810.adobeaemcloud.com | Verified | ||
| Protective | Dai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc. Foreign parent · source | Protective Income Builder | not found | 1.50% | 0.00% | none found | finpro.protective.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| Protective | Dai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc. Foreign parent · source | Protective Indexed Annuity II | 7.00% (2026-09-29) | no numeric minimum published | 2.55% | none found | delivery-p102752-e1161810.adobeaemcloud.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU) Public stock · source | SurePath (7/10-yr) | 10.25% (2026-09-01) | 1.00% | 1.00% | none found | prudential.scene7.com | Verified | ||
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU) Public stock · source | SurePath Income | 4.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-03-17) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | prudential.scene7.com | Verified | |
| Sagicor | Sagicor Financial Company Ltd. (TSX: SFC) Foreign parent · source | Sage Accumulator FIA 5/7/10 (successor to Platinum Series) | 10.75% (2026-08-19) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Securian (Minnesota Life) | Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc. Mutual · source | SecureLink Chronic Illness Access | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 0.50% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| Securian (Minnesota Life) | Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc. Mutual · source | SecureLink Ultra 5 / Ultra 7 | 10.05% (latest public sheet found: 2025-03-15) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.50% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| Sentinel Security Life | Advantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held Other · source | Accumulation Protector Plus Annuity (10-yr, 20% bonus) | 6.25% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 2.40% | none found | sslco.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Sentinel Security Life | Advantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held Other · source | Personal Choice Plus+ (5-yr) | 4.10% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 2.40% | none found | sslco.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| Sentinel Security Life | Advantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held Other · source | Summit Bonus Index (10-yr, 7% bonus) | 2.50% (2026-10-04) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 1.00% | none found | sslco.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | SILAC Denali 10 (Denali Series, 10-yr) | 9.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | SILAC Denali 14 (Denali Series, 14-yr) | 10.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | SILAC Denali 7 (Denali Series, 7-yr) | 8.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | SILAC Denali Bonus 10 | 6.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | SILAC Denali Bonus 14 | 6.75% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | SILAC Evolve 14 (income-focused FIA) | 10.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | SILAC Teton 14 (Teton Series) | 8.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Symetra | Sumitomo Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Symetra Edge Elite | 11.00% (2026-10-01) | 1.00% (2.00%/3.00% in withdrawal-charge period; 1.00% after) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | |
| Symetra | Sumitomo Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Symetra Edge Plus (legacy; 12/2023 sheet) | not found | monthly cap 1.00%; no annual cap floor published | 4.50% | 0.50% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | |
| Symetra | Sumitomo Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Symetra Edge Pro (legacy; last public rate sheet 10/2022) | not found | monthly cap 1.00%; no annual cap floor published | 0.50% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | ||
| Symetra | Sumitomo Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Symetra Stride | 5.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-03-03) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | EclipseMark 10 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 9.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | EclipseMark 5 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 8.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Enhanced Choice Index Plus 5/7/10 (ECI Plus, 2025 version) | 9.25% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Index Select Annuity 10 | 8.50% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 15.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Index Select Annuity 5 | 8.75% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 15.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Index Select Annuity 7 | 9.00% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 15.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Thrive Plus 10 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 9.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Thrive Plus 10 Bonus (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 6.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Thrive Plus 7 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 9.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Thrivent | Thrivent (owned by its members) Other · source | Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity (with GLWB) | 9.00% (2026-09-28) | 1.00% | 0.50% | none found | thrivent.com | Verified | ||
| Thrivent | Thrivent (owned by its members) Other · source | Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity | 9.25% (2026-09-28) | 1.00% | 0.50% | none found | thrivent.com | Verified | ||
| Transamerica | Aegon Ltd. Foreign parent · source | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (10-yr) [closed to new sales] | not found | 1.00% (1.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after) | 100% | 0.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified |
| Transamerica | Aegon Ltd. Foreign parent · source | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (5-yr) [closed to new sales] | not found | 1.00% (2.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after) | 100% | 0.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified |
| Transamerica | Aegon Ltd. Foreign parent · source | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (8-yr) [closed to new sales] | not found | 1.00% (3.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after) | 100% | 0.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified |
| Transamerica | Aegon Ltd. Foreign parent · source | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (all terms) [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified | ||
| Transamerica | Aegon Ltd. Foreign parent · source | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index II Annuity (10-yr) [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | stayretired.org | Verified |
| USAA Life | United Services Automobile Association Other · source | USAA Fixed Indexed Annuity (7-yr) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.70% | none found | usaa.com | Verified | ||
| Voya (now Venerable) | VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Voya Secure Index Five Annuity [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | amsfsg.com | Verified | ||
| Voya (now Venerable) | VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Voya Secure Index Opportunities Plus Annuity (10-yr, 5% bonus) [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | amsfsg.com | Verified | ||
| Voya (now Venerable) | VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium) PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Voya Secure Index Seven Annuity [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | amsfsg.com | Verified |
Renewal caps are set by the insurer, so it can help to know who owns it. Ownership types among the 43 insurers here: Mutual: 9, Public stock: 7, PE-owned or PE-affiliated: 10, Foreign parent: 6, Other: 11. The labels describe ownership only, as stated in the cited source. They are not a rating and say nothing about any insurer's financial condition or future rates. Each insurer is a separately regulated company with its own capital requirements, and the contractual minimums above apply whoever owns it.
For what the ownership types mean for how caps are priced, and what regulators have published about insurer investments by ownership type, see Who owns your insurer, and why it matters for your renewal cap (Retirement Literacy Foundation).
| Insurer | Owner | Ownership type | Note | Source (date checked) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE | Foreign parent | Wholly owned subsidiary of Allianz SE, a financial services group based in Munich, Germany; part of Allianz since 1979. | allianzlife.com (2026-10-05) |
| American Equity | Brookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd. | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of American National Group Inc., part of Brookfield Wealth Solutions, which completed its acquisition of American Equity on May 2, 2024. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| American General Life (Corebridge Financial) | Corebridge Financial, Inc. | Public stock | Subsidiary of Corebridge Financial (NYSE: CRBG), whose largest holder is Nippon Life and in which Blackstone holds a minority stake and manages part of the portfolio; an all-stock merger with Equitable Holdings approved by stockholders July 30, 2026 had not closed as of the check date. | nasdaq.com (2026-10-05) |
| American Life & Security | Antarctica Capital (Midwest Holding LLC) | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of Midwest Holding LLC, which was acquired by an affiliate of Antarctica Capital, LLC on December 21, 2023 and delisted from Nasdaq. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| American National | Brookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd. | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of American National Group Inc., owned by Brookfield Wealth Solutions since its acquisition of American National closed in May 2022. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Americo | Americo Life, Inc. (privately held) | Other | Subsidiary of Americo Life, Inc., which describes itself as one of the largest independent, privately held insurance companies in the United States. | americo.com (2026-10-05) |
| Ameritas | Ameritas Mutual Holding Company | Mutual | Owned through Ameritas Holding Company by Ameritas Mutual Holding Company, a mutual holding company. | ameritas.com (2026-10-05) |
| AmFirst Insurance Company | AmFirst Holdings, Inc. | Other | Wholly owned subsidiary of AmFirst Holdings, Inc., a privately held Mississippi holding company; Axonic Insurance, owned by Axonic Capital, distributes and services the annuities and describes AmFirst as a non-affiliated issuer. | amfirstinsco.com (2026-10-05) |
| Aspida | Ares Management Corporation | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of Aspida Holdings Ltd., an indirect subsidiary of Ares Management Corporation; Ares Insurance Solutions serves as its investment manager. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of Athene Holding Ltd., which merged with Apollo Global Management in January 2022 and is wholly owned by Apollo. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Atlantic Coast Life | Advantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held | Other | Member of the A-CAP group of insurers, owned by privately held Advantage Capital Holdings. A-CAP and Oaktree, an alternative asset manager, signed an agreement in March 2026 under which Oaktree would acquire a controlling stake; not reported closed as of the check date. | businesswire.com (2026-10-05) |
| Brighthouse Financial | Brighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF) | Public stock | Subsidiary of publicly traded Brighthouse Financial, Inc.; a pending all-cash acquisition by an affiliate of Aquarian Capital, approved by stockholders February 12, 2026, still awaited insurance regulatory approvals and had not closed as of the check date. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Delaware Life | Group 1001 (controlled by Mark R. Walter) | Other | Wholly owned subsidiary of Group 1001 Insurance Holdings, LLC, a privately held group whose ultimate controlling person is Mark R. Walter. | insurance.delaware.gov (2026-10-05) |
| Equitable | Equitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH) | Public stock | Subsidiary of publicly traded Equitable Holdings, Inc., which agreed in March 2026 to an all-stock merger with Corebridge Financial expected to close by year-end 2026. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| EquiTrust | Amistad Financial Group, LLC | Other | Owned by Amistad Financial Group, LLC, led by Eric Holoman, following a change of control approved by regulators in 2025; previously controlled by Magic Johnson Enterprises. | equitrust.com (2026-10-05) |
| F&G | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF) | Public stock | Subsidiary of F&G Annuities & Life (NYSE: FG), which is about 70% owned by Fidelity National Financial after a December 31, 2025 distribution; Blackstone manages much of its portfolio under investment management agreements. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Forethought Life (Global Atlantic) | KKR & Co. Inc. | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Forethought Life is a subsidiary of Global Atlantic Financial Group, wholly owned by KKR since KKR acquired the remaining 37% on January 2, 2024. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Great American Life | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) | Mutual | Formerly Great American Life Insurance Company; acquired by MassMutual from American Financial Group in May 2021 and renamed MassMutual Ascend Life Insurance Company in October 2022. | massmutualascend.com (2026-10-05) |
| Integrity Life (Western & Southern) | Western & Southern Mutual Holding Company | Mutual | Member of Western & Southern Financial Group, a Cincinnati-based group under a mutual holding company structure. | westernsouthern.com (2026-10-05) |
| Jackson National | Jackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN) | Public stock | Wholly owned subsidiary of Jackson Financial Inc., a public company since its September 2021 separation from Prudential plc. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Life Insurance Company of the Southwest | National Life Holding Company (mutual holding company) | Mutual | Subsidiary of National Life Insurance Company, owned through NLV Financial Corporation by National Life Holding Company, a mutual holding company. | nationallife.com (2026-10-05) |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) | Public stock | Subsidiary of publicly traded Lincoln National Corporation, in which Bain Capital acquired a 9.9% common equity stake in June 2025 alongside a 10-year investment management relationship. | lincolnfinancial.com (2026-10-05) |
| MassMutual Ascend | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) | Mutual | Formerly Great American Life Insurance Company; acquired by MassMutual from American Financial Group in May 2021 and renamed MassMutual Ascend Life Insurance Company in October 2022. | massmutualascend.com (2026-10-05) |
| Midland National | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) | Other | Member of Sammons Financial Group, a unit of Sammons Enterprises, Inc., which is 100% owned by its Employee Stock Ownership Plan established in 1978. | sammonsfinancialgroup.com (2026-10-05) |
| Nassau | Nassau Financial Group (majority owned by Golden Gate Capital) | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of Nassau Financial Group, whose majority controlling equity holder is Golden Gate Capital; Golub Capital holds a minority stake and an investment management agreement (closed January 2025). | golubcapital.com (2026-10-05) |
| National Western | JAB Holding Company (JAB Insurance) | Other | Owned through Prosperity Life Group, which completed its acquisition of National Western in July 2024; JAB Insurance completed its acquisition of Prosperity from Elliott Investment Management in September 2025. | businesswire.com (2026-10-05) |
| Nationwide | Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company | Mutual | Indirect subsidiary of Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company, an Ohio mutual insurer, through Nationwide Financial Services, Inc. | nationwide.com (2026-10-05) |
| New York Life | New York Life Insurance Company | Mutual | Wholly owned subsidiary of New York Life Insurance Company, a mutual life insurer. | newyorklife.com (2026-10-05) |
| North American | Sammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP) | Other | Member of Sammons Financial Group, a unit of Sammons Enterprises, Inc., which is 100% owned by its Employee Stock Ownership Plan established in 1978. | sammonsfinancialgroup.com (2026-10-05) |
| Oceanview | Bayview Asset Management (via Bayview Opportunity V Oceanview L.P.) | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Part of Oceanview Holdings, Ltd., whose parent is a Bermuda fund whose general partner is a subsidiary of Bayview Asset Management; a Bayview subsidiary is the investment manager. | cdn.bma.bm (2026-10-05) |
| Pacific Life | Pacific Mutual Holding Company | Mutual | Owned through Pacific LifeCorp by Pacific Mutual Holding Company, a Nebraska mutual holding company. | pacificlife.com (2026-10-05) |
| Protective | Dai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc. | Foreign parent | Wholly owned subsidiary of Dai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc. of Japan since February 1, 2015. | investor.protective.com (2026-10-05) |
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU) | Public stock | Wholly owned subsidiary of The Prudential Insurance Company of America, an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of Prudential Financial, Inc. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Sagicor | Sagicor Financial Company Ltd. (TSX: SFC) | Foreign parent | Wholly owned subsidiary of Sagicor Financial Company Ltd., a Bermuda-incorporated insurer listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange. | sagicor.com (2026-10-05) |
| Securian (Minnesota Life) | Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc. | Mutual | Minnesota Life is owned through Securian Financial Group by Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc., a mutual insurance holding company. | securian.com (2026-10-05) |
| Sentinel Security Life | Advantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held | Other | Member of the A-CAP group of insurers, owned by privately held Advantage Capital Holdings. A-CAP and Oaktree, an alternative asset manager, signed an agreement in March 2026 under which Oaktree would acquire a controlling stake; not reported closed as of the check date. | businesswire.com (2026-10-05) |
| SILAC | SILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending) | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of SILAC, Inc., which agreed in December 2025 to be acquired by Hildene Capital Management, a credit-focused alternative asset manager that has held a minority stake since 2022 and manages part of SILAC's portfolio. | businesswire.com (2026-10-05) |
| Symetra | Sumitomo Life Insurance Company | Foreign parent | Wholly owned subsidiary of Symetra Financial Corporation, owned by Japan's Sumitomo Life Insurance Company since February 1, 2016. | investors.symetra.com (2026-10-05) |
| The Standard | Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company | Foreign parent | Subsidiary of StanCorp Financial Group, which became part of Japan's Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company in 2016. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Thrivent | Thrivent (owned by its members) | Other | Membership-owned fraternal benefit society. | thrivent.com (2026-10-05) |
| Transamerica | Aegon Ltd. | Foreign parent | Indirect subsidiary of Aegon Ltd., a Bermuda-domiciled listed company that has proposed redomiciling to Delaware as Transamerica Inc., with a shareholder vote set for October 8, 2026. | aegon.com (2026-10-05) |
| USAA Life | United Services Automobile Association | Other | Wholly owned subsidiary of United Services Automobile Association, a member-owned reciprocal interinsurance exchange based in San Antonio, Texas. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
| Voya (now Venerable) | VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium) | PE-owned or PE-affiliated | Subsidiary of Venerable Holdings, whose parent VA Capital Company LLC is owned by an investor consortium led by affiliates of Apollo, Crestview Partners and Reverence Capital Partners; the company was renamed from Voya Insurance and Annuity Company after the 2018 acquisition of Voya's closed variable annuity block. | SEC filing (2026-10-05) |
Verified documents only, S&P 500 one-year cap, rates effective August 2026 or later:
Spreads and margins can work the same way. The contractual maximum daily-average margin on Midland National's MNL Endeavor 8 is 25.00% (rate disclosure 41062Y, June 18, 2026), so the averaged index gain would have to exceed 25% before that strategy credits anything. North American's VersaChoice 10 and Performance Choice 8 allow a 15.00% maximum spread, and Forethought's ForeAccumulation II and ForeIncome II also allow 15.00%. At the other end, a higher floor does not always mean much room above it: Corebridge Power Select Plus Income with the Lifetime Income Plus Multiplier Flex rider states a 2.00% minimum cap in years 1 to 10, and its current S&P 500 cap is 2.70%, 0.70 points above that floor (rate sheet effective October 1, 2026).
The practical point: the floor that applies to you is the one printed in your own contract and its data pages, by issue date and state. A disclosure for today's version can be lower or higher than what an older contract promised.
A bailout lets you leave without a surrender charge if the insurer declares a cap below a stated rate. In the public documents we checked, they are rare:
We found no bailout in the public documents of Allianz, North American, Midland National, Lincoln, F&G, Nationwide, MassMutual Ascend or Symetra.
For 54 FIA product rows we found no public numeric minimum annual cap. In several, the document says only that rates will "never be less than the guaranteed minimum" described in the contract, so the number is visible only in the contract you receive. Some of these products publish other minimums (participation, spread or fixed account); those are in the table and the CSV.
Allianz's newest contract series (222+, Benefit Control+ and Accumulation Advantage Classic) refer to minimums "stated in the Statement of Understanding", which is not public; the table fills them from sister products on the same base contract and grades them partial.
A floor tells you the worst case. A lock tells you the rate will not move for a stated period. In public documents, these strategies lock a cap or rate for the surrender period or a multi-year term:
A lock trades flexibility for certainty. If certainty of the rate is the main goal, compare it with a fixed-rate annuity that declares its rate for the whole term.
Registered index-linked annuities are securities. Their buffers or floors limit losses rather than guarantee principal, so a low cap floor is a different trade-off than in a fixed indexed annuity. The minimums below come mostly from SEC prospectuses. Two examples: Nationwide Defender's prospectus states a minimum cap of 0.05% for the life of the contract on every index strategy, while Equitable's Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 prospectus states a 12% minimum performance cap rate for 6-year segments and 2% for 1-year segments.
| Insurer | Owner (ownership type) | Product | Contractual minimum cap | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Index Advantage Income Variable Annuity (RILA, older) | 0.50% (3% (1-yr Performance/Guard); 0.50% (Protection)) | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Index Advantage+ Income Variable Annuity (RILA) | 0.50% | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Allianz Index Advantage+ Variable Annuity (RILA) | 2.00% | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Index Advantage (legacy) | 1.50% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Index Advantage NF (legacy) | 0.10% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Index Advantage+ | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Index Advantage+ Income | 0.50% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz SE Foreign parent · source | Index Advantage+ NF (no-fee/advisory) | 0.10% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Amplify 2.0 | 2.00% (2.00% (1-yr) / 4.00% (2-yr) / 12.00% (6-yr)) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Athene | Apollo Global Management, Inc. PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source | Athene Amplify 2.0 NF (advisory) | 1.00% (1.00% (1-yr) / 2.00% (2-yr) / 6.00% (6-yr)) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Brighthouse Financial | Brighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF) Public stock · source | Shield Level II 6-Year (successor to Shield Level Select 6-Year) | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Brighthouse Financial | Brighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF) Public stock · source | Shield Level Pay Plus II | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Brighthouse Financial | Brighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF) Public stock · source | Shield Level Select 6-Year / 3-Year (2025 S-3 re-registration) | 2.00% | SEC filing | Partial (secondary source) |
| Equitable | Equitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH) Public stock · source | Structured Capital Strategies PLUS (original, closed to new sales) | 2.00% (Standard 6-yr 12%, 1-yr 2%; Annual Lock 2%; Step Up 2%; Dual Direction 12%/15%/20% (by -10/-15/-20 buffer); Enhanced Upside 12%) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Equitable | Equitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH) Public stock · source | Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (New York) | 4.50% (6-yr: 30% / 27% / 24% (buffer -10/-15/-20); 1-yr: 5% / 4.5% (buffer -10/-15); Annual Lock & Step Up 5%) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Equitable | Equitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH) Public stock · source | Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (Series B) | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Great American Life | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) Mutual · source | Great American registered index-linked annuity (2015 registration) | no numeric minimum published | SEC filing | Partial (secondary source) |
| Jackson National | Jackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN) Public stock · source | Market Link Pro (Market Link Pro Suite) | 1.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Lincoln | Lincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC) Public stock · source | Lincoln Level Advantage 2 (B-Share) | 0.10% | SEC filing | Verified |
| MassMutual Ascend | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) Mutual · source | MassMutual Ascend Index Achiever / Index Achiever Advisory | 1.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| MassMutual Ascend | Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual) Mutual · source | MassMutual Ascend Index Summit 6 / 6 Pro | 1.00% | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified |
| Nationwide | Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company Mutual · source | Nationwide Defender Annuity | 0.05% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU) Public stock · source | FlexGuard 2.0 | 1.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU) Public stock · source | FlexGuard Income | 1.00% (1.00% / 10.00%) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Symetra | Sumitomo Life Insurance Company Foreign parent · source | Symetra Trek (RILA) | 1.00% (2% during surrender period; 1% after) | SEC filing | Verified |
Suggested citation: Goldstein, H. (2026, October 4). FIA Guaranteed Minimum Caps: How Low the Insurer Can Cut Your Cap. hansgoldstein.com. https://hansgoldstein.com/annuity-reviews/fia-guaranteed-minimum-caps/
Data: fia-guaranteed-minimum-caps.csv (970 strategy rows, verified and secondary-source only, with source URL, quote, form number and date for every row). As of October 4, 2026.
Journalists and educators may quote and chart these figures with a link to this page. Questions or corrections: hans@hansgoldstein.com.
A fixed indexed annuity pays a declared cap for one term, then whatever the insurer declares next, down to the contractual minimum. A multi-year guaranteed annuity (MYGA) works the other way: it declares its rate for the whole term in the contract. For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.80% to 6.00% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.35% to 4.50% APY on September 24, 2026 (AnnuityRateWatch carrier data; DepositAccounts). Current rates: MYGA rates. To see what a surrender schedule costs you on either product, use the annuity surrender charge calculator or the annuity calculator.
When I review an indexed annuity illustration, the first page I look for is not the illustration. It is the statement of understanding or the contract data page that lists the minimum cap, minimum participation rate and maximum spread for each strategy. The illustration shows the current cap; the data page shows what the insurer is allowed to do after year one.
The number buyers misread most often is the first-year cap. It is a one-term rate. Hypothetical: on a $500,000 contract with a 0.50% contractual minimum cap, the most that strategy could credit in a year when the index rises is $2,500 if the insurer declared the minimum. I am not saying any insurer will do that; I am saying that is what the contract permits, and it is the right number to compare.
Then I put it next to a MYGA, because a MYGA states its rate for the whole term in the contract. If the indexed annuity's case rests on the cap staying where it is today, the buyer should see the declared-rate alternative side by side.
Q: What is a guaranteed minimum cap in a fixed indexed annuity?
A: It is the lowest cap the insurer is allowed to declare under the contract. The current cap can be lowered at each renewal, but not below this contractual minimum, which is backed by the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer.
Q: Can the insurer lower my FIA cap after I buy?
A: Yes. Most caps are declared for one term and reset at the insurer's discretion. Of 99 fixed indexed annuities whose public documents state a numeric minimum annual cap, 86 (87%) let the insurer lower that cap to 1.00% or less, and 36 to 0.50% or less. Only strategies with a stated lock keep the cap for a multi-year period.
Q: Does a 1% minimum cap mean I can lose money?
A: Not from the index. Index losses are not credited in a fixed indexed annuity, so a low cap limits gains, not principal. Surrender charges and a market value adjustment can still reduce what you receive if you leave early.
Q: Which FIAs publish the highest minimum caps?
A: In the public documents checked October 4, 2026: MassMutual Ascend American Legend 7, Index Protector 7 and Premier Income Bonus at 2.40%, Jackson MarketProtector III at 2.00% (5-year) and 3.00% (7- and 10-year), and SILAC Denali products at 1.50% (secondary source). Corebridge Power Select Plus Income with the Lifetime Income Plus Multiplier Flex rider states 2.00% in years 1 to 10 and 1.50% after, against a current S&P 500 cap of 2.70% (October 1, 2026). Some products set a higher minimum only during the surrender period: Allianz Essential Income 7 is 3.00% in years 1 to 7, then 0.25%, and Symetra Edge Elite is 2.00% or 3.00% during the withdrawal-charge period, then 1.00%.
Picking between carriers? Request a free second opinion on the quote you have.
Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.
A fixed indexed annuity ties up your money for 7 to 15 years. Cap rates renew annually and can drop. Income riders have separate benefit bases that aren't cash. Get an independent review before you commit your retirement savings to a multi-year contract.
Send your details. Within one business day, you'll get a written independent review of your quote, side-by-side comparisons vs. 2 alternatives, and a 15-minute call if you want one.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers
Email only. Hans replies within one business day, and only calls if you ask him to. Privacy Policy.
This data page compiles insurers' public product materials, SEC prospectuses and, where labelled, a secondary rate service, as of the dates shown. Caps, participation rates, spreads and minimums change and can vary by state and issue date; the contract and its data pages govern. Contractual minimums are backed by the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product, and naming an insurer here is not an endorsement or a criticism. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. No insurer paid for this page. Index losses are not credited in a fixed indexed annuity, but surrender charges and a market value adjustment can reduce what you receive if you leave early. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest.