HANS GOLDSTEIN
Annuity Review Carrier: Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company AM Best: A (Stable), as of 3/2026 per F&G Last updated: 2026-10-04

Goldstein Scorecard: Incomplete (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.

F&G Prosperity Elite 10 Review: The 0.60% Enhancement Fee, Vesting Bonus, Optional Income Rider and Two Surrender Schedules

Hans Goldstein, licensed insurance producerWritten & reviewed by , Independent Licensed Insurance Producer · CA license 4273294 · NPN 20602398
Admitted to practice before the IRS
Facts verified against F&G’s Prosperity Elite quick reference guide (ADV1986, rev. 09-2025) and F&G’s ratings page on October 4, 2026 · Updated

F&G Prosperity Elite 10 is a 10-year flexible premium fixed indexed annuity from Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company with a built-in “enhancement” package (death benefit plus vesting bonus) that costs 0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit. Per F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025), the vesting bonus is 5% to 6% for ages 0 to 70, surrender charges start at 12% (9% in CA, TX and 21 other jurisdictions), and an optional income rider costs 0.35% of the income base. AM Best: A, per F&G.

Rates change often. Get an email when they do. Figures in this article are kept for context, not as today’s rate; confirm with the insurance carrier before you decide. For reference (latest checks, September 2026): A-rated 5-year MYGAs topped out around 5.50% to 6.05% (public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026); and the best nationally available 5-year CDs paid 4.35% to 4.50% APY (DepositAccounts, September 24, 2026).Get an email when MYGA rates change →

Correction: an earlier version of this page said Prosperity Elite 10 has a “5-9% upfront bonus,” “no income rider,” a 10% to 1% surrender schedule in all states, AM Best A-, and estimated June 2026 caps of 8.0% to 10.0%. F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025) shows a vesting bonus (not upfront) of 5% to 6% for ages 0 to 70 on the base package, an optional protection package with an income rider, and two state schedules (12% to 3%, or 9% to 1%). F&G’s ratings page shows AM Best A (Stable, 3/2026). The estimates and competitor comparisons were not from primary sources and were removed.

CD vs MYGA, after tax

What $100,000 earns in 5 years: CD vs MYGA, after tax

Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).

CD, interest taxed every year$121,081
MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax$133,507
MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal$126,136
Tax deferral alone adds about$674
MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax$5,055

Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge. In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.

Enhancement vs protection: the two Prosperity Elite packages

Every Prosperity Elite contract (7, 10 and 14-year versions) comes with the enhancement package: a lump sum death benefit and a vesting bonus on first-year premium. The optional protection package adds an enhanced guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefit (lifetime income) and an enhanced death benefit that heirs can take over time, and it raises the vesting bonus. F&G calls the protection package its most popular option with Prosperity Elite clients. Lifetime income guarantees are backed by the claims-paying ability of Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company.

Source: F&G Prosperity Elite quick reference guide (ADV1986, rev. 09-2025), checked October 4, 2026.
ChargeAmountApplies to
Enhancement package (death benefit + vesting bonus)0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit amount, each contract anniversaryEvery contract (automatic)
Protection package (EGMWB + EGMDB rider)Additional 0.35% of the income base a yearOnly if you elect it
Index option rider with a fee1.25%Only if you elect one; F&G says these may offer higher caps, higher participation or lower spreads
Surrender charge and MVASee the surrender schedule on this pageWithdrawals above the free amount during the surrender period

Vesting bonus (current F&G percentages)

Source: F&G Prosperity Elite quick reference guide (ADV1986, rev. 09-2025): vesting bonus on any premium paid in year 1, vesting over 10 years; F&G labels these “current percentages, subject to change.” Maximum issue age in IN is 80.
Prosperity Elite 10Enhancement (base), ages 0 to 70Enhancement, ages 71 to 85With protection package, ages 0 to 70With protection package, ages 71 to 85
AR, AZ, CO, DC, FL (0 to 64), GA, HI, IA, IL, KS, KY, LA, MD, ME, MI, MO, NC, ND, NE, NH, NM, RI, SD, TN, VA, VT, WI, WV and WY6.00%3.00%12.00%6.50%
AK, AL, CA, CT, DE, FL (65+), ID, IN, MA, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NV, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, SC, TX, UT and WA5.00%2.75%11.00%5.75%

The bonus vests over the 10-year surrender period, so leaving early forfeits the unvested part, and the 10% free withdrawal is measured on the vested account value. F&G’s guide notes that annuities with bonus features may have higher fees and charges, longer surrender periods or lower rates than annuities without them. Background: is an annuity premium bonus good or bad?

Prosperity Elite 10 surrender charges by year

Source: F&G Prosperity Elite quick reference guide (ADV1986, rev. 09-2025), checked October 4, 2026. Prosperity Elite 7 and 10 are not available in NY. Surrender charges and MVA apply to withdrawals above the free amount.
Contract year1234567891011+
AR, AZ, CO, DC, FL (0 to 64), GA, HI, IA, IL, KS, KY, LA, MD, ME, MI, MO, NC, ND, NE, NH, NM, RI, SD, TN, VA, VT, WI, WV and WY12%11%10%9%8%7%6%5%4%3%0%
AK, AL, CA, CT, DE, FL (65+), ID, IN, MA, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NV, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, SC, TX, UT and WA9%9%8%7%6%5%4%3%2%1%0%

Model your exit cost in the annuity surrender charge calculator.

Contract basics (verified)

Source: F&G Prosperity Elite quick reference guide (ADV1986, rev. 09-2025), checked October 4, 2026.
FeatureProsperity Elite 10
IssuerFidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company, Des Moines, IA
TypeFlexible premium, deferred fixed indexed annuity with a minimum guaranteed surrender value
AvailabilityNot available in NY
CreditingA fixed interest option (rate set annually, not below 1%) and index options on the Balanced Asset 5 Index, Barclays Trailblazer Sectors 5 Index, Gold Commodity, GS Global Factor Index and S&P 500 Index, each subject to caps, participation rates and/or spreads
Free withdrawal10% of the vested account value a year, starting in year 2
MVAWith any surrender charge, except in AK, AL, CT, ID, IL, IN, MN, MO, MS, MT, OR, PA, PR and WA
Health accessHome health care, nursing home care and terminal illness access to the total account value without surrender charges or MVA, subject to conditions (not available in MA)
RMDsSurrender charges and MVA waived on RMD withdrawals above the free amount
Protection package income terms18% bonus on first-year premium to the income base, 10% compound annual roll-up, payments from the later of age 50 and one year after issue, impairment multiplier up to double the payment if unable to perform 2 of 6 activities of daily living (state variations apply)
Issue agesBonus table covers ages 0 to 85 (maximum issue age in IN is 80); minimum premium not stated in the guide
MaturityIf you hold the contract to its maturity date, it must be annuitized then
Agent payF&G says it pays the selling professional, factors that into contract pricing, and does not deduct it from premium

Current caps, participation rates and spreads are not publicly disclosed by F&G. Ask for the current rate sheet with its effective date for your state before you sign.

Free second opinion

Is the annuity you're looking at actually the best one available?

Send your email and I'll send what it really guarantees, what the surrender schedule costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

We’ll email it to you. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.

Goldstein Scorecard (dated October 4, 2026)

Goldstein Scorecard dated October 4, 2026. Grades are Hans Goldstein’s opinion from the sources on this page, not a rating by AM Best or any agency, and not a recommendation.
DimensionGradeBasis (sourced fact)
Financial strengthB+AM Best A (Stable) as of 3/2026; S&P A- (9/2025), Fitch A- (10/2025), Moody’s A3 (10/2025), per F&G’s ratings page.
Rate or cap competitivenessIncompleteF&G publishes no current Prosperity Elite caps, participation rates or spreads.
Guaranteed floorIncompleteFixed option floor 1% is public; minimum index caps are not publicly disclosed. F&G's rate page (F&G product interest rates dated April 9, 2026, posted by CreativeOne) footnotes 100% minimum participation and 3.5% to 5% maximum spreads on the 2-year strategies.
LiquidityC-Ten years, from 12% (9% in 23 jurisdictions incl. CA); free withdrawal is 10% of the vested account value from year 2; MVA in most states.
CostsC0.60% a year enhancement charge on every contract; optional 0.35% of income base for the protection package; optional 1.25% index rider.
TransparencyCFees, bonus percentages, surrender schedules and state limits are public; current rates and index minimums are not.
ComplexityCTwo packages, a vesting bonus, an income base that is not cash, state-specific schedules and an MVA.
Guaranteed minimum capNot publicly disclosedThe current F&G Prosperity Elite Statement of Understanding ADV2948 (Rev. 09-2025) gives no number. An older form, the 2020 Statement of Understanding ADV1635 (Rev. 02-2020, posted by a broker), listed 1.00% (secondary, older version).
Maximum spread3.5% to 5%2-year spread strategies, F&G product interest rates dated April 9, 2026, posted by CreativeOne.
Minimum participation rate100% (2-year strategies)2-year spread strategies; no stated minimum on the 1-year participation strategies (F&G product interest rates dated April 9, 2026, posted by CreativeOne).
OverallIncompleteWeighted toward financial strength, guaranteed floor and liquidity for a buyer who wants a known result.

How these contract minimums compare across products: guaranteed minimum caps across FIAs (October 2026).

Get the current numbers for your amountor call 213-414-2808

Pros and cons

Who it’s for, and when to look elsewhere

Fits: a buyer who can leave the money for 10 years, values the built-in death benefit and vesting bonus enough to pay 0.60% a year for them, and, if income is the goal, wants the protection package with a written income quote.

Look elsewhere if:

Run the numbers: annuity surrender charge calculator and annuity calculator. Related reviews: F&G Prosperity Elite 14, F&G Power Accumulator, income riders compared and how annuity crediting actually works.

Questions to ask your agent

  1. Which package is on my Prosperity Elite 10 illustration, enhancement only or enhancement plus protection, and what do the 0.60% and 0.35% charges total in dollars each year?
  2. What are the guaranteed minimum caps, participation rates and spreads in my Statement of Understanding, and the minimum guaranteed surrender value? Please put them in writing with the dated current rate sheet.
  3. Show me the surrender schedule for my state by year, the MVA, and how much of the vesting bonus I keep if I leave in year 3, 5 and 8.
  4. If I take the protection package, what payout factor applies at my starting age, and what is the guaranteed income in dollars (not the income base)?
  5. How are you paid on Prosperity Elite 10? F&G says it pays the agent, factors that into pricing and does not deduct it from premium. What percentage is it, and would a shorter term pay you less? (Background: how annuity commissions work.)

From my desk

When I review a Prosperity Elite illustration, I first check which package it shows. The enhancement package is on every contract and costs 0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit; the protection package adds 0.35% of the income base. I add both to the illustrated return before I compare anything.

The number buyers misread most on this product type is the income base. A 10% compound roll-up and an 18% bonus apply to the income base, which is only used to calculate rider payments; it is not cash and cannot be surrendered. The figure that matters is the guaranteed annual income in dollars at the age you plan to start.

Against a MYGA, I set the guaranteed surrender value by year next to a MYGA compounding at its declared rate for the same term. With an annual package charge and a 10-year surrender schedule, the FIA has to do clearly better on reasonable index assumptions to be worth the trade.

Frequently asked questions

What is F&G Prosperity Elite 10?

A 10-year flexible premium deferred fixed indexed annuity from Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company. Every contract includes the “enhancement” package (a lump sum death benefit and a vesting bonus) for 0.60% a year of the highest guaranteed death benefit; an optional “protection” package adds lifetime income features for 0.35% of the income base.

What does “enhancement” mean on Prosperity Elite?

It is the base package that every Prosperity Elite contract includes automatically: a lump sum death benefit and a vesting bonus, charged at 0.60% of the highest guaranteed death benefit amount on each contract anniversary, per F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025). It is not a separate higher-cap version.

What are the Prosperity Elite 10 surrender charges?

12%, 11%, 10%, 9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4% and 3% in years 1 to 10 in most states; 9%, 9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3%, 2% and 1% in AK, AL, CA, CT, DE, FL (65+), ID, IN, MA, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NV, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, SC, TX, UT and WA. Zero from year 11.

How big is the Prosperity Elite bonus?

It is a vesting bonus on first-year premium, vesting over 10 years. F&G’s guide (rev. 09-2025) lists 6.00% (ages 0 to 70) and 3.00% (71 to 85) in most states, or 5.00% and 2.75% in the 23 jurisdictions with the lower surrender schedule; with the protection package, 12.00% and 6.50%, or 11.00% and 5.75%. F&G calls these current percentages, subject to change.

Does Prosperity Elite have an income rider?

Yes, optionally. The protection package adds an enhanced guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefit and enhanced death benefit for 0.35% of the income base a year, with an 18% bonus on first-year premium to the income base and a 10% compound annual roll-up. Payments can start at the later of age 50 and one year after issue. The income base is not cash and cannot be withdrawn.

What are the current Prosperity Elite rates?

F&G does not publish current Prosperity Elite caps, participation rates or spreads on its public site (checked October 4, 2026). The guide says the fixed interest option is guaranteed not to be below 1%. Ask for the dated rate sheet for your state.

Is F&G a strong company?

F&G’s ratings page lists AM Best A with a Stable outlook as of 3/2026, S&P A- (9/2025), Fitch A- (10/2025) and Moody’s A3 (10/2025). Contract guarantees are backed by the claims-paying ability of Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company.

Sources (checked October 4, 2026)

MYGA and CD benchmark: public carrier rate sheets (MYGAs, October 14, 2026) and DepositAccounts (CDs, September 24, 2026).

Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398). Not affiliated with F&G. No carrier paid for this review. Figures are copied from the carrier documents named, with their dates; they change and vary by state. Confirm current terms in the latest disclosure and the contract before buying.

Hans Goldstein, NPN 20602398

Get an independent quote on this product

Hans is licensed in CA and writes through multiple A-rated carriers.

Hans will pull side-by-side quotes from comparable alternatives, walk you through the surrender schedule and MVA in plain English, and answer the renewal-rate-integrity question for the carrier you're considering.

Send your details. Within one business day, you'll get a written independent comparison, two competing quotes at the same term, and a 15-minute call if you want one.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.

Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers

We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.

Disclosure

This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, and crediting methods change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (NPN 20602398) appointed with multiple A-rated carriers; the producer's specific appointment status with the carrier discussed in this review may vary, and this review is not an endorsement or representation of carrier appointment. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change.

📞 Call Hans · 213-414-2808
Hans Goldstein Network
hansgoldstein.com (annuity + retirement reviews) goldsteinco.net (§453 SIS · capital gains)
Get a second opinion Call 213-414-2808

Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.