HANS GOLDSTEIN
Annuity Review Carrier: Symetra Life Insurance Company AM Best: A (Excellent), affirmed May 29, 2026 Last updated: 2026-10-04

Goldstein Scorecard: C (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.

Symetra Stride Review: 10-Year Fixed Indexed Annuity, Posted Rates and the Signature Withdrawal Benefit

Hans Goldstein, licensed insurance producerWritten & reviewed by , Independent Licensed Insurance Producer · CA license 4273294 · NPN 20602398
Admitted to practice before the IRS
Facts verified against Symetra's Stride rate sheet (effective 3/3/2026), brochure and ratings page on October 4, 2026 · Updated

Symetra Stride is a 10-year single-premium fixed indexed annuity from Symetra Life Insurance Company (AM Best A) with an optional lifetime income rider. The latest Stride rate sheet Symetra posts, effective March 3, 2026, shows a 5.00% S&P 500 1-year cap and a 3.25% fixed account. Free withdrawals are 7% a year after year one. Minimum premium is $25,000. Symetra Stride no longer appears on Symetra's public fixed indexed annuity page (checked October 5, 2026), which lists Symetra Edge Elite and Symetra Income Edge. If you own a Stride contract, see what to watch below; if you are shopping now, see the Symetra Edge Elite review.

If you own Symetra Stride, what to watch (checked October 5, 2026): Stride no longer appears on Symetra’s public fixed indexed annuity page. That does not change an existing contract: your contract terms stay in force.

Stride rates on this page are from the latest rate sheet Symetra posts, effective March 3, 2026, checked October 4, 2026. They may not be current; confirm the sheet in effect on your application date. For reference: A-rated 5-year MYGAs topped out around 5.80% to 6.00% (AnnuityRateWatch carrier rate data, September 24, 2026); and the best nationally available 5-year CDs paid 4.35% to 4.50% APY (DepositAccounts, September 24, 2026).

What Symetra Stride is

Symetra introduced Stride on August 4, 2020 for independent financial professionals and insurance producers, with the Putnam Dynamic Low Volatility Excess Return Index as an index exclusive to Stride and Edge Elite, and the optional Signature Withdrawal Benefit, a guaranteed lifetime withdrawal benefit rider for buyers 50 and older (Symetra press release). It is issued on Symetra's contract form ICC19_RC1 in most states.

Status check, October 4, 2026: Symetra still posts a Stride rate sheet (effective March 3, 2026). But Symetra's consumer fixed indexed annuity page lists Edge Elite and Income Edge, and its February 24, 2026 announcement of FIA enhancements names Edge Elite, Edge Frontier and Edge Revolution, not Stride. Ask your agent to confirm Stride is open to new money in your state.

Correction: an earlier version of this page said Stride's S&P 500 cap was in the "high-single-digit range." The latest posted rate sheet shows 5.00%. It also said the nursing home and terminal illness waivers are unavailable in California; Symetra's brochure says only that they are "not available in all states," so check your state's contract. Unsourced issue ages, a $1,000,000 maximum, Weiss and COMDEX grades, renewal and service tiers, a star rating, a hypothetical "Diane" case study, forum complaint summaries and competitor recommendations have been removed.

CD vs MYGA, after tax

What $100,000 earns in 5 years: CD vs MYGA, after tax

Rates used: CD 4.50%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (DepositAccounts, September 24, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).

CD, interest taxed every year$118,826
MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax$133,507
MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal$126,136
Tax deferral alone adds about$674
MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax$7,310

Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge. In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.

Posted Stride rates (rate sheet effective March 3, 2026)

Source: Symetra Stride current interest rate, cap and participation rates (FAM-1579), effective 3/3/2026, the latest Stride sheet on symetra.com as of 10/4/2026. Caps and participation rates are declared for one or two years depending on the account and can change.
Indexed account1-year cap1-year participation2-year participation
S&P 5005.00%35%45%
JPMorgan ETF Efficiente 514.00%100%155%
Putnam Dynamic Low Volatility Excess Return10.00%120%185%
Fixed account, 1-year rate3.25%

The Putnam index targets a consistent volatility level of 5% by shifting among low-risk U.S. stocks, U.S. Treasury bonds and cash (Symetra's 2020 release). A 185% participation rate on an index built to move that little is not 185% of the stock market. See how annuity crediting actually works.

Same carrier, different product: Symetra's Edge Elite rate sheet effective October 1, 2026 shows an 11.00% S&P 500 cap and a 4.50% fixed account for $100,000 or more, with a 5 or 7-year schedule and 15% free withdrawals. The two sheets carry different dates, so compare the sheets in effect when you apply. Details: Symetra Edge Elite review.

Contractual minimums

Source: Symetra Stride rate sheet, effective 3/3/2026. Renewal rates can be higher or lower than initial rates but not below the minimums stated in the contract.
RateMinimum
Fixed account minimum interest rate0.25%
Indexed account minimum cap0.50%
Indexed account minimum participation rate10% during the withdrawal charge period, 5% after
Guaranteed minimum value87.5% of premium accumulated at a GMV rate set at issue (current GMV rate not published)

Contract basics

Sources: Symetra Stride brochure (FAM-1561, 8/24) and rate sheet effective 3/3/2026. Features vary by state.
FeatureStride
Withdrawal charges (most states)9, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1%, then 0% from year 11
Withdrawal charges, California8.3, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1%, then 0.91% in year 10 falling 0.083% a month to 0%
Market value adjustmentYes on withdrawals above the free amount during the charge period (tied to a Bloomberg U.S. corporate bond index yield); not in California
Free withdrawalUp to 7% of contract value each year after the first year. Withdrawals in year 1 can trigger charges
Minimum premium$25,000 (single premium)
Issue agesNot stated in the public brochure; the income rider can be elected at 50 or older
WaiversNursing home or hospital confinement of 30+ consecutive days (charges also waived up to 90 days after release); terminal illness after year 1. Not available in all states
AnnuitizationAny time after year 1 and before the 96th birthday
Death benefitGreater of contract value or cash surrender value
Free look30 days from contract receipt (brochure)

The Signature Withdrawal Benefit (optional)

To compare a rider against simply buying income, use the lifetime income rider vs annuitization calculator.

Second opinion, free

Get an independent read on Symetra Stride FIA before you sign.

Send your email and I'll send you what this product actually guarantees, what the surrender schedule really costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

We’ll email it to you. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.

Goldstein Scorecard (dated October 4, 2026)

Goldstein Scorecard dated October 4, 2026. Grades are Hans Goldstein's opinion from the sources on this page, not a rating by AM Best or any agency, and not a recommendation.
DimensionGradeBasis (sourced fact)
Financial strengthA-AM Best A (Excellent), affirmed May 29, 2026; S&P A; Moody's A1 (Symetra ratings page)
Rate or cap competitivenessC5.00% S&P 500 cap and 3.25% fixed (3/3/2026) versus 11.00% and 4.50% on Symetra's own Edge Elite (10/1/2026, $100K+), and 5.80% to 6.00% 5-year MYGAs (9/24/2026)
Guaranteed floorDMinimum cap 0.50%, fixed minimum 0.25%, participation minimum 10% then 5%
LiquidityC-10-year schedule starting at 9%; 7% free after year 1; MVA (not CA)
CostsBNo base contract fee; optional rider charge up to 2.5% of the benefit base, current rate not public
TransparencyCRate sheet is public but dated March 2026; rider charge and roll-up not public; product absent from Symetra's consumer FIA page
Guaranteed minimum cap0.50%S&P 500 and custom index 1-year caps, Symetra Stride client guide FAM-1579 (checked October 4, 2026).
Minimum participation rate10%, then 5%During the withdrawal charge period, then after, Symetra Stride client guide FAM-1579.
OverallCStrong carrier, but a long schedule, low posted caps and low contractual minimums

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Who it's for, and when to look elsewhere

Fits: someone 50 or older who wants the option of lifetime withdrawals from an A-rated insurer, can leave the money for 10 years, and will get the rider's charge, roll-up and payout percentages in writing before buying.

Look elsewhere if: you want a known rate. A MYGA locks a declared rate for the whole term. For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.80% to 6.00% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.35% to 4.50% APY on September 24, 2026 (AnnuityRateWatch carrier data; DepositAccounts). Current rates: MYGA rates. Also look elsewhere if you may need more than 7% a year, want a shorter commitment (Symetra's own Edge Elite offers 5 or 7 years), or want income now (an immediate annuity starts paying right away; see Symetra income annuities).

Run the numbers: annuity surrender charge calculator · annuity calculator · income rider comparison

Questions to ask your agent

  1. "Is Stride open to new applications in my state today, and which rate sheet applies to my application date?"
  2. "What are the minimum cap, minimum participation rate, minimum fixed rate and GMV rate in my contract? Please put them in writing."
  3. "Show me the full 10-year surrender (withdrawal charge) schedule for my state, whether the MVA applies, and the waivers my state allows."
  4. "If I add the Signature Withdrawal Benefit, what is the charge rate, the roll-up percentage, and my withdrawal percentage at the age I would start?"
  5. "How are you paid on Stride, what commission percentage does Symetra pay, and would a shorter product like Edge Elite pay you less?" (Commission comes from the insurer and is built into pricing; it is not deducted from your premium. See how annuity commissions work.)

From my desk

With a Stride quote, the first thing I check is the date on the rate sheet behind it. The latest one Symetra posts is from March 3, 2026, and Symetra's newer FIA announcements do not mention Stride. If the illustration's caps do not match a current sheet, I stop there.

The number buyers most often misread on a rider product is the benefit base. It can grow by a roll-up for up to 10 years, but it is a number used to calculate withdrawals, not money you can take. Surrender the contract and you get the cash surrender value. I want to see both columns, year by year, on the illustration.

Then I compare it with a MYGA and with Symetra's own Edge Elite. A MYGA declares its rate for the full term. Edge Elite, on its October 1, 2026 sheet, has a shorter schedule and higher posted rates than Stride's March sheet. Stride's case rests on the income rider, so the rider's actual charge and payout percentages decide it. Contract guarantees are backed by the claims-paying ability of Symetra Life Insurance Company. For a second read on a quote, see annuity second opinion.

Frequently asked questions

What is Symetra Stride?

A single-premium fixed indexed annuity from Symetra Life Insurance Company with a 10-year withdrawal charge period, a 7% annual free withdrawal after the first year, and an optional lifetime income rider called the Signature Withdrawal Benefit. Symetra launched it on August 4, 2020.

What are the Symetra Stride rates?

The most recent Stride rate sheet posted on symetra.com is effective March 3, 2026: S&P 500 1-year cap 5.00%, JPMorgan ETF Efficiente 5 1-year cap 14.00%, Putnam Dynamic Low Volatility Excess Return 1-year cap 10.00%, 2-year participation rates of 45%, 155% and 185%, and a 3.25% one-year fixed account. Ask for the sheet in effect on your application date.

What is the Symetra Stride surrender schedule?

9, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1%, then 0% from year 11. California: 8.3, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1%, then 0.91% in year 10 declining monthly to 0%. A market value adjustment applies to excess withdrawals during the charge period, except in California.

What are the minimum rates in a Symetra Stride contract?

Per the March 3, 2026 rate sheet: fixed account minimum 0.25%, indexed cap minimum 0.50%, and participation rate minimum 10% during the withdrawal charge period and 5% after.

How much does the Signature Withdrawal Benefit cost?

Symetra's brochure says the charge is a percentage of the benefit base, deducted yearly from contract value, shown in your contract, can change after the fifth contract year, and will not exceed 2.5%. The current charge rate, roll-up percentage and withdrawal percentages are not publicly disclosed; get them in writing.

Is Symetra Stride still sold?

Symetra still posts a Stride rate sheet (effective March 3, 2026), but Stride is not listed on Symetra's consumer fixed indexed annuity page and is not named in its February 24, 2026 FIA announcement. Confirm it is open to new applications in your state before you compare it.

Sources (checked October 4, 2026)

Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398). Not affiliated with Symetra. Rates are copied from the carrier documents named, with their effective dates; they change often and vary by state, premium and distributor. Confirm current rates and read the contract summary before buying.

Hans Goldstein, NPN 20602398

Get a second opinion before you sign

Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.

A fixed indexed annuity ties up your money for 7 to 15 years. Cap rates renew annually and can drop. Income riders have separate benefit bases that aren't cash. Get an independent review before you commit your retirement savings to a multi-year contract.

Send your details. Within one business day you get a written review of your quote, a side-by-side with two alternatives, and a free 15-minute call if you want one.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.

Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers

We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.

Disclosure

This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.

📞 Call Hans · 213-414-2808
Get a second opinion Call 213-414-2808

Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.