Quick take: Not 'one best FIA' but the right FIA for YOUR situation. Accumulation buyer? Income-deferred? Bonus chaser? Below: the ranked picks for each persona.
| Rating Agency | Grade |
|---|---|
| AM Best | Various |
| S&P | Various |
| Moody's | Various |
| COMDEX (composite, 0-100) | Various |
Hans is independently licensed and is NOT specifically appointed to discuss or sell FIA Comparison products. Reviews are based on publicly available rate sheets, prospectuses, public carrier rate sheets, and carrier filings.
There is no single best FIA. The right FIA depends on:
1. Are you buying for ACCUMULATION or for guaranteed lifetime INCOME?
2. What's your time horizon (5/7/10/14 years)?
3. What rating floor do you require (A+ / A / A- / B++)?
4. Do you want a premium bonus?
5. How important is a death benefit?
Below: the top picks ranked by buyer type.
CD vs MYGA, after tax
Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).
| CD, interest taxed every year | $121,081 |
|---|---|
| MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax | $133,507 |
| MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal | $126,136 |
| Tax deferral alone adds about | $674 |
| MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax | $5,055 |
Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge.
In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.
The accumulation buyer wants highest credited interest, doesn't need income rider, accepts surrender lockup for cap rate.
| Rank | Product | Why |
|---|---|---|
| #1 | Symetra Edge 10 | A/A rating + ~9.5% S&P cap + clean accumulation |
| #2 | Athene Performance Elite 10 | A+ rating + ~9% S&P cap + Apollo backing |
| #3 | Lincoln OptiBlend 10 | A+/AA- + ~8.5% cap + multiple terms |
| 4 | North American Performance Choice 8 | A+/A+ + 8-yr shorter surrender + ~8.5% cap |
| 5 | Pacific Life Pacific Choice 10 | A+/AA- mutual + ~9% cap |
The income buyer wants guaranteed lifetime income starting in 5-15 years. Cap rates on account value matter less; income rider terms matter most.
| Rank | Product | Why |
|---|---|---|
| #1 | Allianz 222 with PIV | A+/AA + 30%+ PIV benefit base bonus + 7% rollup |
| #2 | North American Charter Plus 10 | A+/A+ + 5% bonus + 8% rollup + Sammons mutual |
| #3 | F&G Safe Income Plus | A-/A- + 10% bonus + 7% rollup (competitive at lower rating) |
| 4 | Delaware Life Assured Income 7 | A- + 7-yr SHORT surrender for income FIA + 7% rollup |
| 5 | Allianz Benefit Control | A+/AA + mode-switching between income and accumulation |
The best MYGA, CD and savings rates change every few weeks. Get a short email when a rate on this page changes.
We’ll email you when a rate on this page changes. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
The bonus buyer wants the headline number to look big. Must commit to full surrender period or forfeit bonus.
| Rank | Product | Bonus | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Athene Ascent Pro Bonus 10 | 10% premium bonus | A+ rating + bonus + Apollo |
| #2 | EquiTrust MarketPower 14 | 14% premium bonus | Highest bonus market but B++ + 14-yr lock |
| #3 | Delaware Life Power Select Plus Bonus | 6% premium bonus | A- + 10-yr standard |
| 4 | NWL Ultra Future | 7-9% premium bonus | A rating + loan provision + 14-yr lock |
| 5 | American Equity GuaranteeShield Bonus | 8% bonus | A- rating |
⚠️ Bonus trap reminder: Premium bonuses ALWAYS vest over the surrender period. Surrender early = forfeit unvested bonus. Calculate net-of-bonus economics over your actual hold period.
Shorter surrender = more liquidity flexibility. Trade-off is lower caps.
| Rank | Product | Surrender | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Symetra Edge 5 | 5-year | A/A + rare 5-yr FIA + ~6.5% cap |
| #2 | Athene Performance Elite 7 | 7-year | A+ rating + shorter lock |
| #3 | North American Performance Choice 8 | 8-year | A+/A+ + 8-yr balance |
| 4 | Pacific Life Pacific Choice 7 | 7-year | A+/AA- mutual |
| 5 | Lincoln OptiBlend 5 | 5-year | A+/AA- + rare 5-yr |
These three insurers get shown together more than any others. Here is what each one puts in writing today, and what it does not.
| Athene | F&G | Allianz Life | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Issuing company | Athene Annuity and Life Company | Fidelity & Guaranty Life Insurance Company | Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America |
| AM Best | A+ (Superior), stable, affirmed August 27, 2026 | A (Excellent), stable, as of 3/2026 (F&G ratings page) | A+ (Superior), stable, affirmed March 27, 2026 |
| Other ratings on the insurer's own page | S&P A+ (8/2025), Fitch A+ (8/2026), Moody's A1 (7/2025) | S&P A- (9/2025), Fitch A- (10/2025), Moody's A3 (10/2025) | S&P AA (March 2026), Moody's Aa3 (September 2025) |
| Group | Part of Apollo | Part of the Fidelity National Financial (NYSE: FNF) family of companies | Subsidiary of Allianz SE |
| Public FIA rates | Yes: current rates page and dated product guides | No public rate sheet for the Power Accumulator | Yes: current and declared rates for every FIA |
| Feature | Athene Performance Elite 10 | F&G Power Accumulator 10 | Allianz Accumulation Advantage Classic |
|---|---|---|---|
| S&P 500 1-year cap | 5.50% no strategy charge; 8.00% with 1.25% charge (effective 9/25/2026) | Not publicly disclosed | 9.00% standard, 10.75% enhanced with 0.95% charge ($100,000+, current 9/1/2026) |
| Fixed rate | 2.90% | Not publicly disclosed | 4.00% ($100,000+); 3.50% under $100,000 |
| Bonus | By state and age, e.g. 22% (ages 0 to 70, most states), vesting over 10 years | None stated in brochure | None |
| Surrender schedule (most states) | 12, 12, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 4% | 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3% | 9.30, 8.85, 7.90, 6.95, 5.95, 5.00, 4.00, 3.00, 2.00, 1.00% |
| Other state schedule shown | CA: 8.2% falling to 0.1% in year 9 | AK, AL, CA, CT, DE, FL (65+), ID, MA and others: 9% falling to 1% | Approved in all states except Oregon |
| MVA | Yes (not in MD, MO) | Yes (not in AK, AL, CT, ID, IL, MN, MO, MS, MT, OR, PA, WA) | Yes, first 10 years |
| Free withdrawals | Base: 0% year 1, 5% after; Plus: 10% | 10% of account value from year 2 | 10% of premium or accumulation value; carryover up to 20% |
| Contract minimum cap | 0.50% (S&P 500 1-year cap) | Not published | Statement of Understanding only |
Read the caps on the same basis: a cap that needs a 1.25% or 0.95% annual charge, or that applies only at $100,000 and up, is not the same as a no-fee cap. Then put a MYGA next to all three: A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.50% to 6.05% on 5-year MYGAs on October 14, 2026 (public carrier rate sheets), and every fixed rate above trails that.
If the goal is lifetime income: Allianz builds it into the 222+ (45% bonus to the Protected Income Value on current rates as of 9/1/2026, no rider charge, lifetime withdrawals from the 10th anniversary) and Benefit Control+ (35% PIV bonus current, 28% declared for 10/6/2026, withdrawals from age 50); see the 222+ rates page and the Allianz 222+ detail.
A bonus or rollup on an income base is not cash. The number that lands in your bank account is the income base times the payout percentage at the age you turn income on, so ask each carrier for that dollar figure at the same start age.
For Athene and F&G income designs we have not verified current figures; get each one's current rate sheet and rider charge in writing.
213-414-2808 for a written ranking tailored to your specific dollar amount, age, and goals, across 6-8 carriers (not one). No charge.
The cap you are quoted on a fixed indexed annuity is not locked like a mortgage rate. It covers the first crediting period, usually one year. At each contract anniversary the carrier can reset it anywhere above the contract minimum.
It works much like a high-yield savings rate: the bank can lower that next month, and the carrier can lower your cap next year. The reason is how caps are funded. The carrier puts most of your premium in bonds and uses part of the yield to buy index options.
When bond yields fall, that option budget shrinks and caps get cut. Caps were cut across the industry in the 2010-2021 low-rate years and came back after 2022.
Every FIA states a minimum guaranteed cap in the contract. Of the 99 FIAs we found that publish one, 86 let the insurer cut the cap to 1% or less, and some go as low as 0.25%. A few set 2% to 3%, and several insurers publish no number at all (FIA minimum cap data, checked October 4, 2026). Read that number before you sign.
If the agent can't answer questions 2 and 3 with documents, you don't have enough information to buy yet.
A fixed indexed annuity credits interest based on a stock index, with a cap on the upside and a 0% floor on the downside. A market drop can't reduce your account value, and in a big up year you only get the capped amount.
Example: $100,000 in an FIA with a 7% annual point-to-point cap on the S&P 500.
Where the cost sits: an FIA with no income rider has no explicit annual fee. The carrier pays for the floor by capping your upside. Surrender charges run 7-15 years if you pull out early, and most contracts let you take about 10% a year without a charge.
Q: Will the cap rate change after I buy?
A: Yes. Caps renew every year, within the contract minimum. A 7% cap at purchase can be cut over time, down to the contract minimum, which on most FIAs that publish one is 1% or less. Check the minimum guaranteed cap in your contract.
Q: Why is my cap lower than my friend's FIA?
A: Carriers trade cap for other features: a premium bonus, a longer surrender period, an income rider or a bigger brand name. Two FIAs with similar headlines can be built very differently.
Q: What is the "minimum guaranteed cap"?
A: The lowest cap the carrier can set on your contract. On most FIAs that publish one it is 1% or less, some as low as 0.25%, and a few set 2% to 3%. With a 1% minimum, your worst case is close to 0% after inflation.
Q: How are FIA gains taxed?
A: Growth is tax-deferred. Gains are taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw them, and gain taken before 59½ usually carries a 10% IRS penalty.
Q: Can I lose money?
A: Not from a market drop. You can lose money by surrendering early (surrender charge) or through a market value adjustment. Hold to the end of the surrender period and neither applies.
Q: How long is the surrender period?
A: It varies: 7 years on some (Athene PEC 7 Plus), 10 on most, 14 to 15 on bonus products. A longer surrender period usually buys a higher cap or a bigger bonus.
Q: What's the difference between cap, participation rate, and spread?
A: The cap is the most you can be credited. The participation rate is the share of the index gain you get. The spread is a percentage subtracted from the index gain. Some products combine them. See How Annuity Crediting Actually Works.
Q: Should I add an income rider?
A: Only if you will actually turn it on for lifetime income. The fee (0.85% to 1.50% a year) is charged whether you use it or not, and plenty of owners pay it for years and never do.
Q: Which of Athene, F&G and Allianz has the highest AM Best rating?
A: Athene Annuity and Life Company and Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America are both A+ (Superior): Athene affirmed by AM Best on August 27, 2026 and Allianz Life on March 27, 2026. F&G's ratings page shows AM Best A (Excellent), stable, as of 3/2026.
Q: How do Athene, F&G and Allianz 10-year FIA surrender charges compare?
A: Allianz Accumulation Advantage Classic: 9.30% falling to 1.00% in year 10. Athene Performance Elite 10 (most states): 12%, 12%, 12%, then 11% down to 4% in year 10. F&G Power Accumulator 10 (most states): 12% falling 1% a year to 3% in year 10. State versions differ (checked October 4, 2026).
Not 'one best FIA' but the right FIA for YOUR situation. Accumulation buyer? Income-deferred? Bonus chaser? Below: the ranked picks for each persona. Get a second opinion before signing. Most agents only sell one or two carriers and will frame whatever they sell as "the best." We don't.
About Hans Goldstein: Independent retirement income specialist. CA Life License #4273294. NPN #20602398. Reviews 30+ carriers. Phone: 213-414-2808. Email: [email protected].
Every annuity I review gets a complexity score from 0 to 100. Higher means harder to understand. Complexity is where buyers get hurt: riders they didn't know they were paying for, surrender charges that surprise them, and income "benefit bases" they took for cash. SPIAs and MYGAs score low. Products that stack a bonus, an income rider, an MVA and several crediting options score high.
Easy to understand. Few moving parts. The buyer can fully explain the product to a friend after one read of the contract.
| Dimension | Score (1-10) | What this measures |
|---|---|---|
| Riders | 1/10 | How many riders, optional or built in (income, death benefit, LTC). Each one adds cost and one more thing to understand. |
| Crediting strategies | 1/10 | How many index options (cap, spread, participation rate, step rate, volatility-controlled indices). More choices are harder to follow. |
| Surrender complexity | 1/10 | Length of the surrender period, plus any MVA and bonus recapture. The longer and more layered it is, the harder it is to know what leaving early costs. |
| Benefit-base separation | 1/10 | Whether there is a separate income base ("PIV") that is not cash but looks like it. This causes more buyer confusion than anything else. |
| Bonus structure | 1/10 | A premium bonus with a recapture schedule. The bonus is real, but you can lose part of it if you leave early. |
Why it matters: nobody gets sued for selling a complicated product, but buyers regret them all the time. An annuity that wins your money in year one and confuses you for the next 14 is worse than a simpler one you understood from the start. Simple products are easier to check.
Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.
A fixed indexed annuity ties up your money for 7 to 15 years. Cap rates renew annually and can drop. Income riders have separate benefit bases that aren't cash. Get an independent review before you commit your retirement savings to a multi-year contract.
Send your details. Within one business day you get a written review of your quote, a side-by-side with two alternatives, and a free 15-minute call if you want one.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers
We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.
This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.
Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.