HANS GOLDSTEINFind my fit
Annuity Review Carrier: Lincoln National Life vs Nationwide Life and Annuity AM Best: A (Lincoln) vs A+ (Nationwide) Last updated: 2026-10-07

Goldstein Scorecard: OptiBlend 7 B-, New Heights Select 8 B- (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.

Lincoln OptiBlend 7 vs Nationwide New Heights Select 8: Verified FIA Comparison (October 2026)

Hans Goldstein, licensed insurance producerWritten & reviewed by , Independent Licensed Insurance Producer · CA license 4273294 · NPN 20602398
Admitted to practice before the IRS
Facts verified against Lincoln’s OptiBlend 7 fact sheet, Nationwide’s New Heights Select 8 rate sheet (10/01/2026) and AM Best on October 4, 2026 · Updated

Lincoln OptiBlend 7 and Nationwide New Heights Select 8 are fixed indexed annuities with a $10,000 minimum and no annual product charge. OptiBlend 7 is issued by The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company (AM Best A, affirmed March 13, 2026) with a 7-year surrender schedule and 10% free withdrawals.

New Heights Select 8 is issued by Nationwide Life and Annuity Insurance Company (AM Best A+, affirmed November 7, 2025) with 8 years and 7%. Nationwide posts dated rates publicly; Lincoln’s product page does not.

Rates change often. Get an email when they do. Figures in this article are kept for context, not as today’s rate; confirm with the insurance carrier before you decide. For reference (latest checks, September 2026): A-rated 5-year MYGAs topped out around 5.50% to 6.05% (public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026); and the best nationally available 5-year CDs paid 4.70% to 5.00% APY (Bankrate and Popular Direct, October 18, 2026).Get an email when MYGA rates change →

Correction (October 4, 2026): An earlier version of this page rated Lincoln A+ with AM Best and compared OptiBlend 7 with a “New Heights 7.” AM Best affirmed The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company at A (Excellent) on March 13, 2026, and Nationwide’s current lineup lists New Heights Select 8, 9, 10 and 12, not a 7-year version.

We also removed unverified cap and participation estimates, renewal-history claims, income rider fee estimates, index names no longer on the New Heights Select rate sheet, Weiss, KBRA and COMDEX figures, and competitor recommendations we could not verify today.

CD vs MYGA, after tax

What $100,000 earns in 5 years: CD vs MYGA, after tax

Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).

CD, interest taxed every year$121,081
MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax$133,507
MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal$126,136
Tax deferral alone adds about$674
MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax$5,055

Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge.

In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.

Head-to-head: verified contract terms

Sources: Lincoln OptiBlend 7 fact sheet FA-OB7-FST001 (LCN-8427115, ©2026) and Lincoln OptiBlend product page; Nationwide New Heights Select 8 rates as of 10/01/2026 (FAM-1601AO.3), New Heights Select guide FAM-1149AO-IM.1 (8/26) and New Heights Select 8 product page. All read October 4, 2026.
FeatureLincoln OptiBlend 7Nationwide New Heights Select 8
IssuerThe Lincoln National Life Insurance Company, Fort Wayne, INNationwide Life and Annuity Insurance Company, Columbus, OH
AM Best FSRA (Excellent), affirmed March 13, 2026 (AM Best)A+ (Superior), affirmed November 7, 2025 (AM Best)
Surrender schedule9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3% (California 9.25% to 3.15%)9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3%, 2%, then 0%
Free withdrawal10% of account value each contract year, starting in year 17% of contract value a year after the first contract anniversary
MVAYes, on surrenders above the free amount during the surrender periodYes, on withdrawals above the free amount, if applicable in your state
Minimum premium$10,000 (maximum $2,000,000 without home office approval)$10,000 single purchase payment
Additional premiumUp to $25,000 a year, $100,000 cumulativeNot allowed (single purchase payment)
Issue ages0 to 85Annuitant up to 80; owner any age
Annual product chargeNo ongoing product chargesNo annual contract or administration fees
Crediting styleFixed account plus cap, participation and trigger accounts, including 7-year lock accountsUncapped index allocation less a strategy spread, 1-year and 2-year terms, eight index options
Current S&P 500 1-year termsNot publicly disclosed on Lincoln’s product pageStrategy A: 45% index allocation, 1.95% spread; Strategy B: 30%, 0% spread (10/01/2026)
Published contractual minimumsFixed 1.65% during surrender period (0.10% after); S&P 500 cap 1.00%; participation 5.00%; trigger 1.00%Not publicly disclosed in the rate sheet or guide
Optional lifetime income riderNone listed on the fact sheet; income via annuitization (no charge or MVA after year 5)High Point 365 Select Lifetime Income riders, at additional cost
Not available inNew YorkCA, GU, NY, PR, VI
Free second opinion

Is the annuity you're looking at actually the best one available?

Send your email and I'll send what it really guarantees, what the surrender schedule costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

We’ll email it to you. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.

New Heights Select 8 current rates (October 1, 2026)

Source: Nationwide New Heights Select 8 current rates as of 10/01/2026 (FAM-1601AO.3), applicable to the 48 states and DC listed on the sheet. Rates and spreads can change at each term.
New Heights Select 8, 1-year strategies (10/01/2026)Strategy A: index allocation / spreadStrategy B: index allocation (0% spread)
S&P 500® Index45% / 1.95%30%
Goldman Sachs New Horizons Index125% / 0.75%110%
SG Macro Compass Index100% / 0.75%90%
Loomis Sayles Discovery Index65% / 0.95%55%
S&P 500® Distance Stabilizer TCA Index50% / 0.95%40%
GS American Funds GFA 15% Index50% / 0.95%40%
Nasdaq-100 Volatility Control 10% PR Index50% / 1.95%30%
American Funds The Growth Fund of America (Class F-3)30% / 1.95%25%

Lincoln OptiBlend 7 current rates

Lincoln does not post current OptiBlend 7 rates on its public product page; the fact sheet lists the accounts (fixed, 1-year S&P 500 cap, participation, performance triggered and dual trigger, S&P 500 10% Daily Risk Control trigger, Capital Group Dividend Value ETF and Nasdaq Priva participation, and 7-year lock accounts) and their contractual minimums. Current rates are not publicly disclosed; ask for the dated rate sheet in writing.

Lincoln OptiBlend 10: the 10-year version

OptiBlend also comes as a 10-year contract with the same account menu and the same published minimums as OptiBlend 7 (1.00% minimum caps and trigger rates, 5.00% minimum participation, 1.65% fixed minimum during the surrender period, then not less than 0.10%). Per Lincoln's OptiBlend 10 fact sheet FA-OB10-FST001 and OptiBlend client guide FA-OB-PDC001 (checked October 4, 2026), what differs:

Source: Lincoln OptiBlend 10 fact sheet (FA-OB10-FST001) and client guide (FA-OB-PDC001), checked October 4, 2026. Current OptiBlend 10 caps and rates are not publicly disclosed. Contractual minimums are backed by the claims-paying ability of The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company.
Contract year1234567891011+
OptiBlend 109%9%8%7%6%5%4%3%2%1%0%
OptiBlend 10, California (no MVA)9.25%8.25%7.25%6.25%5.20%4.20%3.15%2.10%1.05%0%0%

The trade: OptiBlend 10 adds three years of surrender charges for the same published floors, and Lincoln does not post whether its caps are higher. Hypothetical: on $100,000, surrendering in year 8 costs 3% on the amount above the 10% free withdrawal, about $2,700 before any MVA, where OptiBlend 7 would charge nothing. Get both rate sheets from the same date before choosing the longer term.

Goldstein Scorecard (dated October 4, 2026)

Goldstein Scorecard dated October 4, 2026. Grades are Hans Goldstein’s opinion from the sources on this page, not a rating by AM Best or any agency, and not a recommendation.
DimensionGradeBasis (sourced fact)
Financial strengthOptiBlend 7: A-
NHS 8: A
Lincoln National Life: AM Best A (Excellent), March 13, 2026. Nationwide Life and Annuity: A+ (Superior), November 7, 2025.
Rate or cap competitivenessOptiBlend 7: Incomplete
NHS 8: C
Lincoln does not post current OptiBlend rates on its product page. New Heights Select 8 S&P 500 1-year: 45% allocation less 1.95% spread (10/01/2026); neither declares a rate comparable to the 5.50% to 6.05% 5-year MYGA benchmark.
Guaranteed floorOptiBlend 7: B
NHS 8: Incomplete
Lincoln publishes a 1.65% minimum fixed rate during the surrender period and a 1.00% minimum S&P 500 cap. Nationwide’s minimums are not in the public documents I read.
LiquidityOptiBlend 7: B
NHS 8: C
7 years and 10% free from year 1 versus 8 years and 7% free after the first anniversary; MVA on both.
CostsOptiBlend 7: A
NHS 8: B
No product charges on either; New Heights Select Strategy A spreads run 0.75% to 1.95% and its riders cost extra.
TransparencyOptiBlend 7: C
NHS 8: A
Nationwide posts a dated rate sheet; Lincoln posts a fact sheet with minimums but no current rates.
Guaranteed minimum capOptiBlend 7: 1.00% · NHS: not publicOptiBlend 7: 1.00% on the 1-year S&P 500 cap accounts (OptiBlend 7 fact sheet FA-OB7-FST001 (September 2026)). Nationwide New Heights Select: not publicly disclosed (contract specifications page), checked October 4, 2026.
Minimum participation rateOptiBlend 7: 5.00%OptiBlend 7 fact sheet FA-OB7-FST001 (September 2026). Nationwide: not publicly disclosed.
OverallOptiBlend 7: B- · NHS 8: B-Weighted toward financial strength, guaranteed floor and liquidity for a buyer who wants a known result.

How these contract minimums compare across products: guaranteed minimum caps across FIAs (October 2026).

Get the current numbers for your amountor call 213-414-2808

Pros and cons

Lincoln OptiBlend 7

Nationwide New Heights Select 8

Who it’s for, and when to look elsewhere

OptiBlend 7 fits a buyer who wants a 7-year term, plain S&P 500 cap or trigger accounts with written minimums, and 10% access from year one, and who is comfortable with an A-rated (Excellent) issuer. New Heights Select 8 fits a buyer who wants the A+ (Superior) issuer, uncapped crediting on custom indexes, and possibly an income rider later, and who can live with an 8-year schedule.

Look elsewhere if: you mainly want a known rate. A MYGA locks a declared rate for the term instead of an index formula that resets.

For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.50% to 6.05% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.70% to 5.00% APY (MYGAs: public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026; CDs: Bankrate and Popular Direct, October 18, 2026). Current rates: MYGA rates.

For more on each product, see the Lincoln OptiBlend 10 section and the Nationwide New Heights review.

Questions to ask your agent

  1. Please give me the dated rate sheet for my state, and the guaranteed minimum cap, participation rate or maximum spread for each account you are recommending, in writing.
  2. What is the full surrender schedule by year for my state, how does the MVA work, and how much can I take free each year?
  3. For New Heights Select, which strategies carry a spread, and which indexes are custom or volatility-controlled? For OptiBlend, which accounts lock rates for seven years?
  4. If I add an income rider, what does it cost each year and on what value is it charged?
  5. How are you paid on each of these? Commission comes from the insurer and is built into pricing, not deducted from my premium. What is the percentage on each, and does the longer surrender term pay you more? (See how annuity commissions work.)

From my desk

When I compare these two, I start with access, not crediting. OptiBlend 7 lets you take 10% from year one; New Heights Select 8 allows 7% after the first anniversary, over an extra year of surrender charges. For many buyers that difference matters more than any index.

The number buyers most often misread is New Heights Select’s “125% index allocation.” It applies to a custom index, then a spread comes off. It is not 125% of the S&P 500. On OptiBlend, the number to watch is the renewal cap: the fact sheet lets the S&P 500 cap reset as low as 1.00% after the first term.

Against a MYGA, neither product declares a rate you can bank on for seven or eight years. If the goal is a known result, I show the buyer a MYGA quote next to both and let the trade-off speak for itself. You can model surrender costs with the annuity surrender charge calculator and growth with the annuity calculator.

Hans Goldstein, independent licensed insurance producer, CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398. Questions: 213-414-2808 or [email protected].

Frequently asked questions

Which is rated higher, Lincoln or Nationwide?

Nationwide Life and Annuity Insurance Company is rated A+ (Superior) by AM Best, affirmed November 7, 2025. The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company is rated A (Excellent), affirmed March 13, 2026.

What is the Lincoln OptiBlend 7 surrender schedule?

9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4% and 3% over seven contract years (California 9.25%, 8.25%, 7.25%, 6.25%, 5.20%, 4.20%, 3.15%), with 10% free withdrawals each year starting in year 1.

What is the New Heights Select 8 surrender schedule?

9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3%, 2%, then 0% after eight years, with 7% free withdrawals a year after the first contract anniversary.

What are the current OptiBlend 7 caps?

Lincoln does not publish current OptiBlend rates on its product page. The fact sheet states a contractual minimum S&P 500 cap of 1.00% and a minimum fixed rate of 1.65% during the surrender period. Ask for the dated rate sheet in writing.

Does Nationwide make a New Heights 7?

Nationwide’s current fixed indexed lineup lists New Heights Select 8, 9, 10 and 12. This page compares OptiBlend 7 with New Heights Select 8, the shortest New Heights Select term.

Are these annuities guaranteed?

Index losses are not credited to either contract, and contractual minimums are backed by the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer: The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company or Nationwide Life and Annuity Insurance Company. Neither is FDIC insured.

Related reviews: Lincoln OptiBlend 10 · Nationwide New Heights · Nationwide Peak 10 · How annuity crediting actually works · FIA cap rates in 2026

Hans Goldstein, NPN 20602398

Get a second opinion before you sign

Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.

A fixed indexed annuity ties up your money for 7 to 15 years. Cap rates renew annually and can drop. Income riders have separate benefit bases that aren't cash. Get an independent review before you commit your retirement savings to a multi-year contract.

Send your details. Within one business day you get a written review of your quote, a side-by-side with two alternatives, and a free 15-minute call if you want one.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.

Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers

We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.

Sources (checked October 4, 2026)


Disclosure

This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.

📞 Call Hans · 213-414-2808
Get a second opinion Call 213-414-2808

Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.