Goldstein Scorecard: D+ (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.
EquiTrust Life Insurance Company does not sell a product called “MarketBoost” (checked October 4, 2026). Its accumulation bonus FIAs are MarketPower Bonus Index (12% bonus, 14-year surrender from 20%), MarketTen Bonus Index (8% on premiums in the first five years, 10 years from 10%) and MarketEdge Bonus Index (20% over three years, 10 years from 16%), per EquiTrust’s 06-26 brochures. AM Best: B++ (Good), affirmed August 20, 2026.
Rating watch (checked October 4, 2026): AM Best rates EquiTrust Life Insurance Company B++ (Good), outlook stable, as of August 20, 2026 (AM Best press release). AM Best moved the outlook to stable from positive, citing elevated financial leverage and pressured interest coverage at EquiTrust’s new parent, Amistad Financial Group, LLC. B++ is one notch below A- on AM Best’s scale; it is AM Best’s “Good” category, not a downgrade.
S&P Global Ratings affirmed its A- rating and revised the outlook to negative on April 15, 2026 (S&P release), and Fitch affirmed A- and revised the outlook to negative on May 15, 2026 (Fitch release); both cited debt at the parent that is expected to be serviced largely by EquiTrust. EquiTrust says ownership transitioned to Amistad Financial Group in 2025 (EquiTrust company history).
What it means: an annuity’s values and any contractual guarantees are backed by the claims-paying ability of EquiTrust Life Insurance Company. If an insurer fails, state guaranty associations cover annuity values up to set limits (in California, 80% of value up to $250,000 per owner per insurer; see California guaranty coverage and guaranty limits by state). A rating action is not a default. It is a reason to keep the amount per insurer within your state’s limit and to read the latest rating before you buy.
Correction: an earlier version of this page reviewed a “MarketBoost” FIA, said EquiTrust is owned by Magic Johnson Enterprises, listed a 14% MarketPower bonus, S&P BB+, Fitch BBB+ and Weiss, KBRA and COMDEX scores, and estimated caps. EquiTrust’s website shows no MarketBoost product, a 12% MarketPower bonus, and that ownership transitioned to Amistad Financial Group in 2025 (Magic Johnson Enterprises became controlling shareholder in 2015). S&P and Fitch rate EquiTrust A-. The unsourced figures and the commission claims were removed.
Not as a current product. EquiTrust’s fixed index annuity pages list MarketPower Bonus Index, MarketTen Bonus Index and MarketEdge Bonus Index (accumulation with a bonus), MarketFive, MarketSeven and MarketValue Index (accumulation), MarketEarly Income Index and MarketFuture Bonus Income Index (income), SmartBoost Index and the Bridge LTC hybrid. EquiTrust’s agent rate page lists a “MarketBooster Index” only in its renewal-rate tab for existing contracts. If you were quoted “MarketBoost,” ask for the exact product name and form number in writing.
CD vs MYGA, after tax
Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).
| CD, interest taxed every year | $121,081 |
|---|---|
| MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax | $133,507 |
| MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal | $126,136 |
| Tax deferral alone adds about | $674 |
| MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax | $5,055 |
Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge. In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.
| Feature | MarketPower Bonus Index | MarketTen Bonus Index | MarketEdge Bonus Index |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bonus | 12% on first-year premiums | 8% on premiums paid in the first five years | 8% premium bonus at issue plus 4% Accumulation Value bonus on each of the first three anniversaries (20% total; more with compounding) |
| Surrender period | 14 years (10 in 17 states) | 10 years (9 in CA) | 10 years (9 in CA) |
| Surrender schedule | 20, 20, 19, 19, 18, 17, 16, 14, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2% | 10, 10, 10, 10, 8.5, 7, 5.5, 4, 3, 1.5% | 16, 14.5, 13, 11.5, 9.5, 8, 6.5, 5, 3, 1% (FL and MN/PA differ) |
| Issue ages | Up to 75 | Up to 80 | Up to 80 |
| Minimum contract value | 87.5% of premiums at the MGCR | 100% of premiums at the MGCR, less surrender charges; Return of Premium Rider at no charge | 87.5% of premiums at the MGCR |
| MVA | Yes, on withdrawals over 10% during the surrender period | Yes, on withdrawals over 10% during the surrender period | Yes, except in CA |
| Free withdrawal | 10% of Accumulation Value a year after year 1 | Same | Same |
| Waivers | Nursing home (90 days, from year 2); terminal illness up to 75% | Same | Same |
| Product | State schedule (per brochure) |
|---|---|
| MarketPower Bonus Index | AK, CT, DE, ID, IL, MN, MT, NJ, NV, OH, OK, OR, PA, TX, UT, VT, WA: 10 years, 19, 17, 15, 13, 11, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2% |
| MarketTen Bonus Index | CA: 9 years, 8.3, 7.4, 6.5, 5.6, 4.7, 3.8, 2.9, 1.9, 0.9% |
| MarketEdge Bonus Index | CA: 9 years, 8.3, 7.4, 6.5, 5.6, 4.7, 3.8, 2.9, 1.9, 0.9%; FL: 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 4%; MN and PA: 15.5, 14.5, 13, 11.5, 9.5, 8, 6.5, 5, 3, 1% |
Model the exit cost in the annuity surrender charge calculator. The full MarketPower contract minimums are on the MarketPower Bonus Index review.
Send your email and I'll send you what this product actually guarantees, what the surrender schedule really costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.
We’ll email it to you. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
| Dimension | Grade | Basis (sourced fact) |
|---|---|---|
| Financial strength | C+ | AM Best B++ (Good), outlook stable, 8/20/2026; S&P and Fitch A- with negative outlooks (4/15/2026, 5/15/2026). |
| Rate or cap competitiveness | Incomplete | Current rates appear only on an agent-only rate summary; not published here. |
| Guaranteed floor | D+ | MarketPower and MarketEdge: 87.5% minimum contract value; MarketTen: 100% of premium less surrender charges plus a Return of Premium Rider. MarketPower minimums are 1.0% caps and 10% participation (disclosure 03-25). |
| Liquidity | D+ | MarketTen 10 years from 10%; MarketEdge 10 years from 16%; MarketPower 14 years from 20%. 10% free after year 1; MVA. |
| Costs | B- | No base contract fee described; optional buy-up accounts on MarketPower charge 1.00% a year. |
| Transparency | C | Brochures with surrender schedules are public; current rates are agent-only. |
| Guaranteed minimum cap | 1.0% (MarketPower, MarketEdge) | S&P 500 1-year caps, 0.5% on the monthly sum cap: EquiTrust MarketPower disclosure ET-MPP-1101 (03-25) and EquiTrust MarketEdge disclosure ET-MEDG-1101 (08-25) (checked October 4, 2026). MarketTen: not publicly disclosed. |
| Minimum participation rate | 10.0% (MarketPower, MarketEdge) | All participation strategies, same disclosures. MarketTen: not publicly disclosed. |
| Overall | D+ | Weighted toward financial strength, guaranteed floor and liquidity for a buyer who wants a known result. |
How these contract minimums compare across products: guaranteed minimum caps across FIAs (October 2026).
Get the current numbers for your amountor call 213-414-2808
Fits: a buyer who wants an up-front bonus, can leave the money for the full surrender period of the version chosen, and keeps the amount within their state’s guaranty limit given the B++ rating. Of the three, MarketTen has the lowest published surrender charges and the strongest published floor.
Look elsewhere if:
Run the numbers: annuity surrender charge calculator and annuity calculator. Related reviews: EquiTrust MarketPower Bonus Index, EquiTrust Bridge, EquiTrust Confidence Income SPIA and is an annuity bonus good or bad?
When someone brings me an EquiTrust bonus FIA quote, I first confirm the product name and form number, because names like “MarketBoost” do not match anything EquiTrust currently sells. Then I put the three bonus designs side by side: a bigger bonus on this lineup comes with a longer or steeper surrender schedule.
The number buyers misread most is the bonus percentage. MarketEdge’s 20% is spread over three years, MarketTen’s 8% applies to premiums paid in the first five years, and MarketPower’s 12% applies to first-year premiums only. What you can actually withdraw in a given year is the surrender value, not the Accumulation Value.
Against a MYGA, I compare the guaranteed surrender value at year 10 with a MYGA compounding at its declared rate over the same period.
No product called MarketBoost appears on EquiTrust’s website (checked October 4, 2026). EquiTrust’s agent rate page lists a “MarketBooster Index” only under renewal rates for existing contracts, not among products currently offered. EquiTrust’s current accumulation bonus FIAs are MarketPower Bonus Index, MarketTen Bonus Index and MarketEdge Bonus Index.
MarketPower Bonus Index pays 12% on first-year premiums with a 14-year surrender period (issue ages to 75). MarketTen Bonus Index pays 8% on premiums paid in the first five years with a 10-year period (to 80). MarketEdge Bonus Index pays an 8% premium bonus plus 4% Accumulation Value bonuses on the first three anniversaries, a 20% total over three years, with a 10-year period (to 80).
MarketTen Bonus Index: 10%, 10%, 10%, 10%, 8.5%, 7%, 5.5%, 4%, 3% and 1.5% over 10 years, per EquiTrust’s brochure (06-26). MarketEdge starts at 16% and MarketPower at 20% in most states. California versions of MarketTen and MarketEdge run 9 years from 8.3%.
EquiTrust says its premium bonuses are vested on day 1, and its brochures say you will not lose the bonus on surrender. Surrender charges and MVA still apply to the full Accumulation Value during the surrender period.
EquiTrust’s current rate summary is marked for financial professionals only and not for public use, so this page does not publish caps or participation rates. Ask for the dated rate sheet for your state.
AM Best affirmed B++ (Good) with a stable outlook on August 20, 2026. S&P (April 15, 2026) and Fitch (May 15, 2026) affirmed A- and revised their outlooks to negative, citing debt at the new parent, Amistad Financial Group.
MYGA and CD benchmark: public carrier rate sheets (MYGAs, October 14, 2026) and DepositAccounts (CDs, September 24, 2026).
Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398). Not affiliated with EquiTrust. No carrier paid for this review. Figures are copied from the carrier documents named, with their dates; they change and vary by state. Confirm current terms in the latest disclosure and the contract before buying.
Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.
A fixed indexed annuity ties up your money for 7 to 15 years. Cap rates renew annually and can drop. Income riders have separate benefit bases that aren't cash. Get an independent review before you commit your retirement savings to a multi-year contract.
Send your details. Within one business day you get a written review of your quote, a side-by-side with two alternatives, and a free 15-minute call if you want one.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers
We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.
This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.
Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.