Goldstein Scorecard: B (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.
The Sagicor Milestone Max 3-year is a multi-year guaranteed annuity from Sagicor Life Insurance Company (AM Best A, upgraded July 16, 2026). Its surrender charges are 9%, 8%, 7% over 3 years, and the 10% free withdrawal starts in year two. If you take no action in the 30-day windows at years 3 and 6, it renews into new 3-year periods with the schedule restarting. Sagicor does not publish current rates; the rate is not publicly disclosed. Not sold in California.
Correction: an earlier version of this page showed Milestone Max rates from third-party sites (effective 8/19/2026) and peer rates marked “~”, which are not Sagicor documents, and showed the surrender charge as 0% from year 4 and called it a 3-year commitment. Per Sagicor’s client guide (checked October 4, 2026), the 3-year renews automatically twice: if you take no action in the 30-day penalty-free window at the 3rd contract anniversary, a new 3-year period starts with a new declared rate and the 9, 8, 7% schedule plus MVA (years 4 to 6); the same happens again at the 6th anniversary (years 7 to 9). After year 9 the rate renews annually with no surrender charge or MVA. The rate tables, the “typical” minimum guaranteed rate and minimum premium ranges, and the DBQS/IQS/GPS scores were removed.
CD vs MYGA, after tax
Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.65%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Athene MaxRate 3-year (AM Best A+), $100,000 and up, effective September 25, 2026 (Athene rate card).
| CD, interest taxed every year | $112,162 |
|---|---|
| MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax | $117,926 |
| MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal | $113,982 |
| Tax deferral alone adds about | $170 |
| MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax | $1,820 |
Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge. In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.
| Contract year | Surrender charge, 3-year guarantee period |
|---|---|
| Year 1 | 9% |
| Year 2 | 8% |
| Year 3 | 7% |
| After year 3 | New 3-year period with a new rate unless you act in the window (9, 8, 7% again, plus MVA) |
At the end of the 3-year guarantee period, the contract renews automatically twice: if you take no action in the 30-day penalty-free window at the 3rd contract anniversary, a new 3-year period starts with a new declared rate and the 9, 8, 7% schedule plus MVA (years 4 to 6); the same happens again at the 6th anniversary (years 7 to 9). After year 9 the rate renews annually with no surrender charge or MVA. Penalty-free windows: Twice: at contract anniversary years 3 and 6. Realistic holding period: up to 9 years if you never act in a window. Sagicor’s guide states that its rating and guarantees are based on the claims-paying ability of Sagicor Life Insurance Company.
| Guarantee period | Surrender charges | Automatic renewal periods | 30-day penalty-free windows |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3-year | 9, 8, 7% | Two | Years 3 and 6 |
| 4-year | 9, 8, 7, 6% | Two (one in Florida) | Years 4 and 8 |
| 5-year | 9, 8, 7, 6, 5% | One | Year 5 |
| 6-year | 9% to 4% | One (none in Florida) | Year 6 |
| 7-year | 9% to 3% | None | Does not repeat |
The best MYGA, CD and savings rates change every few weeks. Get a short email when a rate on this page changes.
We’ll email you when a rate on this page changes. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
| Feature | Milestone Max MYGA (per Sagicor) |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Sagicor Life Insurance Company, Scottsdale, AZ, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Sagicor Financial Company Ltd. |
| Terms | 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 contract years |
| Free withdrawal | From contract year 2: 10% of the last anniversary accumulation value a year, no surrender charge or MVA; $500 minimum withdrawal |
| RMDs | Penalty-free from contract year 1 on qualified contracts (the guide’s body text says up to the 10% limit in year 1, its footnote allows the full Sagicor-calculated RMD; get the year-1 rule in writing) |
| MVA | Applies to full surrenders and excess withdrawals in any period with surrender charges; can increase or decrease the amount; not applied to the death benefit or the guaranteed surrender value |
| Waivers | Terminal illness after the first contract year; nursing home or confined care after the contract effective date: up to 100% penalty-free |
| Death benefit | Full account value to beneficiaries |
| Fees | “There are no fees or front-end charges” |
| Availability | Not available in California; not available in all states; state variations may apply |
| Minimum premium, issue ages, minimum guaranteed rate | Not publicly disclosed for Milestone Max (the California version lists $15,000 and issue ages up to 90) |
| Dimension | Grade | Basis (sourced fact) |
|---|---|---|
| Financial strength (AM Best) | A | A (Excellent), stable, upgraded from A- on 07/16/2026 (Sagicor Financial press release). |
| Rate competitiveness | Incomplete | Sagicor publishes no current Milestone Max rates; compare a dated rate sheet with the 10/14/2026 benchmark of about 5.50% to 6.05% for A-rated 5-year MYGAs. |
| Guaranteed floor | Incomplete | Minimum guaranteed rate on renewal is not in the public guide or product page. |
| Liquidity | B | 9, 8, 7% charges plus MVA; 10% free from year 2; but two automatic renewals restart the schedule unless you act in a 30-day window. |
| Costs | A | “No fees or front-end charges” per the client guide. |
| Transparency | B | Schedules, renewal rules, MVA and waivers are public; rates, minimum premium and the floor are not. |
| Overall | B | Weighted toward financial strength, guaranteed floor and liquidity for a buyer who wants a known result. |
Get the current numbers for your amountor call 213-414-2808
Pros: AM Best A (Excellent) since July 16, 2026; no fees or front-end charges; 10% free withdrawal from year two plus terminal illness and nursing home access; full account value at death; renewal rules spelled out in the guide.
Cons: current rates, the minimum premium and the minimum renewal rate are not public; first-year charge of 9%; MVA on excess withdrawals while charges apply; two automatic renewals can stretch the commitment to 9 years; not sold in California.
Fits: a buyer outside California who wants a short initial lock with an A-rated insurer and will act in the 30-day windows at years 3 and 6.
Look elsewhere if: you want to compare published rates before you talk to anyone, you live in California (see the Sagicor Milestone MYGA review for the California version), or you may need more than 10% a year. A MYGA locks a declared rate for the term. For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.50% to 6.05% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.35% to 4.50% APY (MYGAs: public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026; CDs: DepositAccounts, September 24, 2026). Current rates: MYGA rates.
Run your amount: MYGA growth calculator · MYGA vs CD after-tax calculator · surrender charge calculator. Other terms: Milestone Max 5-year · Milestone Max 7-year · Sagicor Milestone overview · 3-year MYGA rates compared.
On a 3-year Milestone Max, the date I check first is not year 3; it is the renewal notice. Sagicor’s guide says you get written notice before each penalty-free window, and if you do nothing the contract starts a new 3-year period with a new rate and a fresh 9, 8, 7% schedule, twice. So a “3-year” contract can hold your money for 9 years if nobody acts.
The number buyers most often misread on a short MYGA is the renewal rate. It is declared at renewal, not promised at purchase, and Sagicor does not publish its minimum. I ask for it in writing before the application.
Hypothetical, not a quote: you miss the year-3 window and need the money in year 4. With a $100,000 accumulation value, 10% comes out free and the other $90,000 carries the 9% first-year charge of the new period: about $8,100, before any MVA. Run your own numbers in the surrender charge calculator.
Sagicor does not publish current Milestone Max rates on sagicor.com (product page, client guide and site map checked October 4, 2026), so the rate is not publicly disclosed. Rates quoted on third-party sites are not Sagicor documents. Ask for the current rate sheet with its effective date and premium bands.
9%, 8%, 7% in contract years 1 to 3, per Sagicor’s Milestone Max client guide. Charges and an MVA apply to full surrenders and to withdrawals above the 10% penalty-free amount. If the contract renews into a new guarantee period, the schedule starts over.
Per the client guide, the 3-year renews automatically twice: if you take no action in the 30-day penalty-free window at the 3rd contract anniversary, a new 3-year period starts with a new declared rate and the 9, 8, 7% schedule plus MVA (years 4 to 6); the same happens again at the 6th anniversary (years 7 to 9). After year 9 the rate renews annually with no surrender charge or MVA.
Beginning in contract year two, 10% of the last contract anniversary’s accumulation value each year, with no surrender charge or MVA; the minimum withdrawal is $500. Qualified contracts can take RMDs penalty-free starting in year one, and terminal illness (after year one) or nursing home confinement allows up to 100% penalty-free.
No. Sagicor’s guide says Milestone Max MYGA is not available in California. Californians get the separate Milestone MYGA (California) with its own surrender schedule (8.40% down to 3.20%), covered in the Sagicor Milestone MYGA review.
A (Excellent), outlook stable, upgraded from A- on July 16, 2026, per Sagicor Financial’s press release. The rating applies to Sagicor Life Insurance Company, the issuer.
Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) and is not affiliated with Sagicor. Contract terms are copied from Sagicor’s documents named above; confirm current terms and rates with the insurer before you buy. MYGA benchmark figures are market data, not quotes. Examples labelled hypothetical are illustrations, not quotes.
Hans is licensed in CA and writes through multiple A-rated carriers.
Hans will pull side-by-side quotes from comparable alternatives, walk you through the surrender schedule and MVA in plain English, and answer the renewal-rate-integrity question for the carrier you're considering.
Send your details. Within one business day, you'll get a written independent comparison, two competing quotes at the same term, and a 15-minute call if you want one.
Comparing this MYGA against others? Request a free, independent second opinion on the quote you have, or see this month's best MYGA rates.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers
We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.
This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, and crediting methods change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (NPN 20602398) appointed with multiple A-rated carriers; the producer's specific appointment status with the carrier discussed in this review may vary, and this review is not an endorsement or representation of carrier appointment. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change.
Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.