HANS GOLDSTEIN
Annuity Review Carrier: Sagicor Life Insurance Company AM Best: A (Excellent), stable Last updated: 2026-10-04

Goldstein Scorecard: B (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.

Sagicor Milestone Max MYGA 7-Year Review: 9 to 3% Surrender Charges, Then Annual Renewal With No Charges (October 2026)

Hans Goldstein, licensed insurance producerWritten & reviewed by , Independent Licensed Insurance Producer · CA license 4273294 · NPN 20602398
Admitted to practice before the IRS
Facts verified against the Sagicor Milestone Max MYGA client guide, product page and AM Best release on October 4, 2026 · Updated

The Sagicor Milestone Max 7-year is a multi-year guaranteed annuity from Sagicor Life Insurance Company (AM Best A, upgraded July 16, 2026). Its surrender charges are 9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3% over 7 years, and the 10% free withdrawal starts in year two. After year 7 it renews annually with no surrender charge or MVA. Sagicor does not publish current rates; the rate is not publicly disclosed. Not sold in California.

Rates checked October 4, 2026: Sagicor’s product page and Milestone Max client guide do not list current rates, and the rate table that used to sit here came from third-party sites. The current rate is not publicly disclosed; ask for Sagicor’s current rate sheet with its effective date and premium bands. For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.50% to 6.05% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.35% to 4.50% APY (MYGAs: public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026; CDs: DepositAccounts, September 24, 2026). Current rates: MYGA rates.

Correction: an earlier version of this page showed Milestone Max rates from third-party sites (effective 8/19/2026) and peer rates marked “~”, which are not Sagicor documents, and said the charge declines from 9% in year 2 to 0% at year 8 and that the minimum rate matters if you renew into a new 7-year term. Per Sagicor’s client guide (checked October 4, 2026), the 7-year does not roll into a new surrender period. After the 7th contract year the rate renews annually, with no surrender charge or MVA. Sagicor’s guide lists no repeating penalty-free window for the 7-year because none is needed. The rate tables, the “typical” minimum guaranteed rate and minimum premium ranges, and the DBQS/IQS/GPS scores were removed.

CD vs MYGA, after tax

What $100,000 earns in 5 years: CD vs MYGA, after tax

Rates used: CD 5.00%, the top nationally available 5-year CD (Bankrate, October 14, 2026); change it to the rate you are offered. MYGA 5.95%, the best A-rated rate we track as of October 13, 2026: Delaware Life Pinnacle Plus 5-year (AM Best A-, negative outlook, 7/31/2026), $100,000 and up, effective October 6, 2026 (Delaware Life rate sheet).

CD, interest taxed every year$121,081
MYGA, tax-deferred, before tax$133,507
MYGA after paying tax on all the interest at withdrawal$126,136
Tax deferral alone adds about$674
MYGA ahead of the CD, after tax$5,055

Assumes 22% federal and 0% state income tax, no withdrawals, rates held for the whole term. MYGA interest is taxed as ordinary income when you withdraw it, not as capital gains. Gains taken before age 59 1/2 can owe a 10% IRS penalty, and cashing out early can cost a surrender charge. In an IRA both grow tax-deferred, so the edge there is the rate alone. Bank and credit union deposits are FDIC or NCUA insured up to the limits; a MYGA is backed by the issuing insurer's claims-paying ability and your state's guaranty association up to its limits, not the FDIC. General education, not tax, legal or financial advice.

Surrender schedule and what happens at the end of the term

Source: Sagicor Milestone Max MYGA client guide (MMM-CG0583, contract forms ICC243010, 3010, 3010FL), checked October 4, 2026. Charges apply to withdrawals above the 10% penalty-free amount. State variations may apply; Florida versions differ.
Contract yearSurrender charge, 7-year guarantee period
Year 19%
Year 28%
Year 37%
Year 46%
Year 55%
Year 64%
Year 73%
After year 70%: annual renewal rate, no surrender charge or MVA

At the end of the 7-year guarantee period, the contract does not roll into a new surrender period. After the 7th contract year the rate renews annually, with no surrender charge or MVA. Sagicor’s guide lists no repeating penalty-free window for the 7-year because none is needed. Penalty-free windows: None: the 7-year does not repeat. Realistic holding period: 7 years. Sagicor’s guide states that its rating and guarantees are based on the claims-paying ability of Sagicor Life Insurance Company.

How the 7-year compares with other Milestone Max terms

Source: Milestone Max client guide, renewal and surrender tables, checked October 4, 2026. Milestone Max has no 10-year term.
Guarantee periodSurrender chargesAutomatic renewal periods30-day penalty-free windows
3-year9, 8, 7%TwoYears 3 and 6
4-year9, 8, 7, 6%Two (one in Florida)Years 4 and 8
5-year9, 8, 7, 6, 5%OneYear 5
6-year9% to 4%One (none in Florida)Year 6
7-year9% to 3%NoneDoes not repeat
Rate alert

Rates expire like milk.

The best MYGA, CD and savings rates change every few weeks. Get a short email when a rate on this page changes.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

We’ll email you when a rate on this page changes. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.

Contract basics

Sources: Milestone Max client guide, Sagicor Milestone Max product page and Milestone MYGA (CA) client guide, checked October 4, 2026.
FeatureMilestone Max MYGA (per Sagicor)
IssuerSagicor Life Insurance Company, Scottsdale, AZ, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Sagicor Financial Company Ltd.
Terms3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 contract years
Free withdrawalFrom contract year 2: 10% of the last anniversary accumulation value a year, no surrender charge or MVA; $500 minimum withdrawal
RMDsPenalty-free from contract year 1 on qualified contracts (the guide’s body text says up to the 10% limit in year 1, its footnote allows the full Sagicor-calculated RMD; get the year-1 rule in writing)
MVAApplies to full surrenders and excess withdrawals in any period with surrender charges; can increase or decrease the amount; not applied to the death benefit or the guaranteed surrender value
WaiversTerminal illness after the first contract year; nursing home or confined care after the contract effective date: up to 100% penalty-free
Death benefitFull account value to beneficiaries
Fees“There are no fees or front-end charges”
AvailabilityNot available in California; not available in all states; state variations may apply
Minimum premium, issue ages, minimum guaranteed rateNot publicly disclosed for Milestone Max (the California version lists $15,000 and issue ages up to 90)

Goldstein Scorecard (dated October 4, 2026)

Goldstein Scorecard dated October 4, 2026. Grades are Hans Goldstein’s opinion from the sources on this page, not a rating by AM Best or any agency, and not a recommendation.
DimensionGradeBasis (sourced fact)
Financial strength (AM Best)AA (Excellent), stable, upgraded from A- on 07/16/2026 (Sagicor Financial press release).
Rate competitivenessIncompleteSagicor publishes no current Milestone Max rates; compare a dated rate sheet with the 10/14/2026 benchmark of about 5.50% to 6.05% for A-rated 5-year MYGAs.
Guaranteed floorIncompleteMinimum guaranteed rate on renewal is not in the public guide or product page.
LiquidityB-Longest Milestone Max schedule: 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3% plus MVA; 10% free from year 2; no renewal reset after year 7.
CostsA“No fees or front-end charges” per the client guide.
TransparencyBSchedules, renewal rules, MVA and waivers are public; rates, minimum premium and the floor are not.
OverallBWeighted toward financial strength, guaranteed floor and liquidity for a buyer who wants a known result.

Get the current numbers for your amountor call 213-414-2808

Pros and cons

Pros: AM Best A (Excellent) since July 16, 2026; no fees or front-end charges; 10% free withdrawal from year two plus terminal illness and nursing home access; full account value at death; renewal rules spelled out in the guide.

Cons: current rates, the minimum premium and the minimum renewal rate are not public; first-year charge of 9%; MVA on excess withdrawals while charges apply; the longest Milestone Max schedule, 3% still in year 7; not sold in California.

Who it’s for, and when to look elsewhere

Fits: a buyer outside California who can leave the money for 7 years, wants an A-rated insurer, and prefers a contract that will not roll into a new surrender period.

Look elsewhere if: you want to compare published rates before you talk to anyone, you live in California (see the Sagicor Milestone MYGA review for the California version), or you may need more than 10% a year. A MYGA locks a declared rate for the term. For comparison, A-rated-or-better insurers were paying about 5.50% to 6.05% on 5-year MYGAs and the best nationally available 5-year CDs about 4.35% to 4.50% APY (MYGAs: public carrier rate sheets, October 14, 2026; CDs: DepositAccounts, September 24, 2026). Current rates: MYGA rates.

Run your amount: MYGA growth calculator · MYGA vs CD after-tax calculator · surrender charge calculator. Other terms: Milestone Max 3-year · Milestone Max 5-year · Sagicor Milestone overview · 7-year MYGA rates compared.

Questions to ask your agent

  1. What is the current 7-year rate for my premium band, and what is the effective date on the rate sheet?
  2. What is the guaranteed minimum rate on renewal, in writing? It is not in Sagicor’s public guide.
  3. Show me the full surrender schedule by year for my state (9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3% in the standard guide), how the MVA is calculated, and the free withdrawal rules in year one.
  4. Confirm in writing that the 7-year does not renew into a new surrender period in my state.
  5. How are you paid on this product? The commission comes from the insurer, is built into pricing and is not deducted from my premium. What percentage is it, and does a longer term pay you more? (Background: how annuity commissions work.)

From my desk

On a 7-year Milestone Max, I check the end-of-term rule first, because it is the opposite of the shorter terms. Sagicor’s guide says the 3 to 6-year terms can renew into new surrender periods, but the 7-year does not repeat: after year 7 the rate renews annually with no surrender charge or MVA.

The number buyers most often misread on a 7-year MYGA is the year-7 charge. It is still 3% in contract year 7, not 0%, and an MVA can apply on excess withdrawals in any year with a charge. Free money is 10% of the last anniversary value from year two.

Hypothetical, not a quote: you surrender in year 4 with a $100,000 accumulation value. 10% comes out free; the other $90,000 carries the 6% year-4 charge, about $5,400, and the MVA can move that up or down. Model your own case in the surrender charge calculator.

Frequently asked questions

What does the Sagicor Milestone Max 7-year MYGA pay?

Sagicor does not publish current Milestone Max rates on sagicor.com (product page, client guide and site map checked October 4, 2026), so the rate is not publicly disclosed. Rates quoted on third-party sites are not Sagicor documents. Ask for the current rate sheet with its effective date and premium bands.

What is the surrender charge schedule on the 7-year term?

9%, 8%, 7%, 6%, 5%, 4%, 3% in contract years 1 to 7, per Sagicor’s Milestone Max client guide. Charges and an MVA apply to full surrenders and to withdrawals above the 10% penalty-free amount. If the contract renews into a new guarantee period, the schedule starts over.

What happens when the 7-year term ends?

Per the client guide, the 7-year does not roll into a new surrender period. After the 7th contract year the rate renews annually, with no surrender charge or MVA. Sagicor’s guide lists no repeating penalty-free window for the 7-year because none is needed.

How much can I withdraw without a charge?

Beginning in contract year two, 10% of the last contract anniversary’s accumulation value each year, with no surrender charge or MVA; the minimum withdrawal is $500. Qualified contracts can take RMDs penalty-free starting in year one, and terminal illness (after year one) or nursing home confinement allows up to 100% penalty-free.

Is Milestone Max sold in California?

No. Sagicor’s guide says Milestone Max MYGA is not available in California. Californians get the separate Milestone MYGA (California) with its own surrender schedule (8.40% down to 3.20%), covered in the Sagicor Milestone MYGA review.

What is Sagicor’s AM Best rating?

A (Excellent), outlook stable, upgraded from A- on July 16, 2026, per Sagicor Financial’s press release. The rating applies to Sagicor Life Insurance Company, the issuer.

Sources (checked October 4, 2026)

Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) and is not affiliated with Sagicor. Contract terms are copied from Sagicor’s documents named above; confirm current terms and rates with the insurer before you buy. MYGA benchmark figures are market data, not quotes. Examples labelled hypothetical are illustrations, not quotes.

Hans Goldstein, NPN 20602398

Get an independent quote on this product

Hans is licensed in CA and writes through multiple A-rated carriers.

MYGAs are short-listable in 10 minutes if you give an independent broker the carrier name, term, and premium amount. Hans will pull side-by-side quotes from comparable A- and A-rated alternatives, walk you through the surrender schedule and MVA in plain English, and answer the renewal-rate-integrity question for the carrier you're considering.

Send your details. Within one business day, you'll get a written independent comparison, two competing quotes at the same term, and a 15-minute call if you want one.

Hans Goldstein, EA
Admitted to practice before the IRS

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.

Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers

We’ll email it to you. Hans replies within one business day. Privacy Policy.

Disclosure

This review reflects publicly available product materials, third-party rate aggregators (Annuity.org, AnnuityAdvantage, AnnuityEducator, PlanEasy, ImmediateAnnuities.com), and carrier filings as of the date stated above. Annuity rates, surrender schedules, free-withdrawal terms, MVA factors, and minimum guaranteed rates change often, sometimes monthly or when a contract is refiled. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (NPN 20602398) appointed with multiple A-rated carriers; the producer's specific appointment status with the carrier discussed in this review may vary, and this review is not an endorsement of carrier appointment. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity. AM Best, S&P, Moody's, Fitch, and KBRA ratings are subject to change; lower-rated carriers (B/B+/B++) carry higher counter-party risk and may be supported in part by state guaranty associations, but coverage limits vary by state and are not a substitute for carrier financial strength.

📞 Call Hans · 213-414-2808
Hans Goldstein Network
hansgoldstein.com (annuity + retirement reviews) goldsteinco.net (§453 SIS · capital gains)
Email me when rates change Call 213-414-2808

Hans Goldstein is an Enrolled Agent, admitted to practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the IRS. General education, not tax or legal advice for your situation.