Goldstein Scorecard: B (dated October 4, 2026). See how it is graded.
Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity is the accumulation FIA issued by Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. On its rate sheet effective September 28 to October 12, 2026, the S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap is 9.25%, 9.50% or 9.75% (5, 7 or 9-year surrender schedule) and the fixed account pays 4.65% to 4.95%. Contractual minimums are a 1.00% cap and 0.50% fixed rate. Thrivent sells insurance only to its members, and the product is not available in New York.
Correction (October 4, 2026): an earlier version of this page was titled "Thrivent Financial Cornerstone FIA Review (2026)". Thrivent does not sell a product by that name. Its fixed indexed annuities are the Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity and the Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity. This page now reviews both, from Thrivent rate sheets 28370 and 29322 (effective September 28, 2026). The earlier Moody's "Aaa" and COMDEX figures were not supported by a Thrivent source and have been removed; Thrivent lists Moody's Aa2.
| Surrender charge schedule | S&P 500 Index annual point-to-point cap | Fixed account rate |
|---|---|---|
| 5-year | 9.25% | 4.65% |
| 7-year | 9.50% | 4.80% |
| 9-year | 9.75% | 4.95% |
| Contractual minimum (all schedules) | 1.00% (Guaranteed Minimum Index Cap) | 0.50% (Fixed Account Guaranteed Minimum Interest Rate) |
| Feature | Thrivent Security Preference FIA |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Thrivent Financial for Lutherans ("Thrivent" is its marketing name), a membership-owned fraternal benefit society |
| Crediting options | S&P 500 Index Annual Point-to-Point Indexed Account (cap) and a Fixed Account |
| Surrender charge schedule | Choice of 5, 7 or 9 years. The percentage by year is not on the public rate sheet: not publicly disclosed |
| Free withdrawal, MVA | Not stated on the public rate sheet: not publicly disclosed |
| Minimum premium, issue ages | Not stated on the public rate sheet: not publicly disclosed |
| Rate changes | Cap and fixed rate are reset annually, never below 1.00% (cap) and 0.50% (fixed) |
| Rate lock | 30 days for personal funds and Thrivent proceeds; 60 days for 1035 exchanges, transfers, rollovers, conversions and wrap accounts |
| Who can buy | Thrivent says its sale of insurance products is limited to clients with membership; Christians and spouses of Christians are eligible to join |
| States | Not available in New York; not available in all states |
| Contract forms | ICC14 A-AX-SDFIA, A-AX-SDFIA (14) Series; rider forms ICC14 AR-IP-APTP, AR-IP-APTP(14) |
| Taxes | Growth is tax-deferred; surrenders are taxed as ordinary income on the gain portion, and before age 59½ may carry a 10% federal tax penalty |
Send your email and I'll send you what this product actually guarantees, what the surrender schedule really costs you, and the two or three carriers paying more for the same guarantee. If it's already a good fit, I'll tell you that.
Email only. Hans reads every one himself and replies within one business day. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.
Thrivent's second FIA, the Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity, adds a Guaranteed Lifetime Withdrawal Benefit (GLWB) rider. It uses the same S&P 500 annual point-to-point account and fixed account, with one 9-year surrender schedule.
| Feature | Secure Retirement Builder (9-year) | Security Preference (9-year) |
|---|---|---|
| S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap | 9.00% | 9.75% |
| Fixed account rate | 4.40% | 4.95% |
| Contractual minimum cap / fixed rate | 1.00% / 0.50% | 1.00% / 0.50% |
| Rider charge | 0.95% current, 1.50% contractual maximum | No rider charge listed |
| Lifetime withdrawal percentages, benefit base growth | Not on the public rate sheet: not publicly disclosed | n/a |
| Contract forms | ICC16 A-NX-SDFIA; rider ICC16 AR-NX-GLWB | ICC14 A-AX-SDFIA |
On the same date, choosing the income version costs 0.75 points of cap and 0.55 points of fixed rate, plus the 0.95% rider charge. That trade only pays if you will actually turn the lifetime withdrawals on. Ask for the withdrawal percentage at your start age and what the rider charge is applied to, in writing.
| Term | MYGA, MVA version | MYGA, return of premium version | Security Preference fixed account |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5-year | 5.45% | 5.20% | 4.65% |
| 7-year | 5.50% | 5.25% | 4.80% |
| 9-year | 5.60% | 5.35% | 4.95% |
Thrivent's own declared MYGA rate beats the Security Preference fixed account by 0.65 to 0.80 points on each term, and the MYGA rate holds for the whole term while the FIA fixed rate resets each year. The FIA only comes out ahead if the S&P 500 account credits more than the MYGA rate on average.
| Dimension | Grade | Basis (sourced fact) |
|---|---|---|
| Financial strength | A+ | AM Best A++ (Superior, September 2025), Moody's Aa2 (July 2025), S&P AA+ (April 2025), per Thrivent's financials page checked October 4, 2026. |
| Rate or cap competitiveness | B | 9.25% to 9.75% S&P 500 caps; fixed account 4.65% to 4.95%, below Thrivent's own 5.45% to 5.60% MYGA rates and the 5.80% to 6.00% 5-year MYGA benchmark (September 24, 2026). |
| Guaranteed floor | C | Public, but low: 1.00% minimum cap and 0.50% minimum fixed rate. |
| Liquidity | Incomplete | 5, 7 or 9-year schedule; the yearly percentages and free withdrawal amount are not publicly disclosed. |
| Costs | B+ | No rider charge on Security Preference; the cost sits in the cap. Secure Retirement Builder adds a 0.95% rider charge (1.50% maximum). |
| Transparency | B | Caps, fixed rates and minimums are published on dated public rate sheets; surrender percentages are not. |
| Guaranteed minimum cap | 1.00% | S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap, Thrivent Security Preference disclosure 28370 (checked October 4, 2026). |
| Overall | B | A very strong issuer with a simple, published cap and public minimums; the fixed account trails Thrivent's own MYGA. |
How these contract minimums compare across products: guaranteed minimum caps across FIAs (October 2026).
Get the current numbers for your amountor call 213-414-2808
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| AM Best A++, Moody's Aa2 and S&P AA+ per Thrivent. | Insurance is sold only to Thrivent members, which means Christians or spouses of Christians. |
| Simple: one S&P 500 cap account plus a fixed account, with no rider charge listed. | Only one index strategy to choose from. |
| Caps and contractual minimums are published on a dated public rate sheet. | The 1.00% minimum cap and 0.50% minimum fixed rate are low floors. |
| Choice of a 5, 7 or 9-year surrender schedule. | Surrender percentages by year and free withdrawal terms are not public. |
| Up to a 60-day rate lock on 1035 exchanges and rollovers. | Fixed account rates sit 0.65 to 0.80 points below Thrivent's own MYGA. |
Fits: a Thrivent member who wants S&P 500 linked growth with no loss from index declines, a short (5-year) or medium surrender schedule, and one simple strategy from an A++ rated issuer.
Look elsewhere if:
Run the numbers: annuity surrender charge calculator and annuity calculator. Related reading: USAA Fixed Indexed Annuity review, FIA cap rates in 2026, how annuity crediting actually works and why a 7-year FIA fits most buyers.
When I review a Security Preference illustration, I check the cap renewal language and the two minimums first: 1.00% on the cap and 0.50% on the fixed account. Those are the only numbers that hold past year one. Then I ask for the surrender schedule by year, because Thrivent does not print it on the rate sheet.
The number buyers misread most on a cap FIA is the cap itself. 9.50% is the most the S&P 500 account can credit in a year, not what it is expected to credit. In flat or down years it credits less, down to 0%.
Against a MYGA, I put the fixed account rate next to the declared MYGA rate for the same term. Here Thrivent's own sheets make that easy: 4.80% on the 7-year FIA fixed account vs 5.50% on its 7-year MYGA (MVA version, $100,000 to $249,999). If the buyer would leave money in the fixed account anyway, the MYGA usually wins on the published numbers.
Hans Goldstein, independent licensed insurance producer, CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398. No carrier paid for this review.
No. As of October 4, 2026, Thrivent's annuities page links rate sheets for two fixed indexed annuities: the Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity and the Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity (with a lifetime withdrawal rider). Neither is called Cornerstone.
On the rate sheet effective September 28 to October 12, 2026: S&P 500 annual point-to-point caps of 9.25% (5-year), 9.50% (7-year) and 9.75% (9-year), and fixed account rates of 4.65%, 4.80% and 4.95%.
The rate sheet lists a Guaranteed Minimum Index Cap of 1.00% and a Fixed Account Guaranteed Minimum Interest Rate of 0.50%. Thrivent says caps and rates change annually but never fall below these minimums, which are backed by the claims-paying ability of Thrivent Financial for Lutherans.
Yes. Thrivent says its sale of insurance products is limited to clients with membership. Christians, spouses of Christians and youth being raised in the Christian faith are eligible to join.
Thrivent's FIA with a Guaranteed Lifetime Withdrawal Benefit rider. On the September 28, 2026 rate sheet it has a 9-year schedule, a 9.00% S&P 500 cap, a 4.40% fixed rate and a 0.95% current rider charge (1.50% maximum).
Thrivent's financials page lists AM Best A++ (Superior, September 2025), Moody's Aa2 (July 2025) and S&P Global AA+ (April 2025).
Talk to Hans Goldstein, a licensed independent insurance producer.
A fixed indexed annuity ties up your money for 7 to 15 years. Cap rates renew annually and can drop. Income riders have separate benefit bases that aren't cash. Get an independent review before you commit your retirement savings to a multi-year contract.
Send your details. Within one business day you get a written review of your quote, a side-by-side with two alternatives, and a 15-minute call only if you want one.
Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.
Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer appointed with multiple A-rated carriers
Email only. Hans replies within one business day, and only calls if you ask him to. Privacy Policy.
This review is based on the carrier's public product materials and rates as of the date shown above. Annuity rates, caps, participation rates, payout factors, crediting methods, and long-term care benefit structures change often, sometimes monthly. Confirm current figures in the latest carrier disclosure and the contract before you buy. This is general education, not a personal recommendation or an offer of any product. Hans Goldstein is an independent licensed insurance producer (CA license 4273294, NPN 20602398) appointed with several A-rated carriers. His appointment with the carrier reviewed here may vary, and this review is not an endorsement. No carrier paid for this review. Always read the actual contract and consult a licensed advisor before purchasing any annuity or long-term care insurance product. Past index performance does not predict future credited interest. Annuities and hybrid life+LTC policies are long-term contracts with surrender charges; they are not suitable for funds you may need before the end of the surrender period. AM Best ratings and tax treatment are subject to change. Tax discussion of IRC §7702B, §1035, and the Pension Protection Act of 2006 reflects law as of 2026 and is subject to change.