HANS GOLDSTEIN
Carrier Review Last reviewed: 2026-10-03 Part of Carrier and product reviews

Principal Life Insurance Review (2026)

Hans Goldstein, licensed insurance agentWritten and reviewed by Hans Goldstein, licensed insurance producer, NPN 20602398 · CA Insurance License #4273294
Last reviewed · Published October 3, 2026

Editorial review by a licensed agent who may earn a commission. No insurer pays for placement or grades. Hans is paid a commission by the insurer if you buy a policy through him. For life insurance, ask and he will tell you what he earns on your specific policy.

Short answer: Principal Life (AM Best A+, stable, affirmed 4/28/2026) builds its life insurance around guarantees and business uses such as buy-sell, key person and executive benefits. Its IUL Flex II publishes a modest 8.50% cap; its guaranteed minimum cap is not publicly disclosed. It is one of the few carriers still offering a survivorship guaranteed UL (to the younger insured's age 100).
Principal at a glance

Companies: Principal Life Insurance Company

AM Best financial strength: A+, stable, affirmed 4/28/2026 (AM Best: Principal Life Insurance Company rating (4/28/2026)).

ProductTypeProvisional Goldstein Index
IUL Flex IIIULPending 45% graded

Why Principal matters to business owners

Principal's life products are built for guarantees and predictable costs for business uses such as funding a buy-sell agreement, insuring a key person, or executive bonus plans, more than maximum accumulation. If you own a business and are thinking about who buys your share when you die or retire, life insurance is usually how the agreement gets funded.

IUL Flex II: a low current cap

Principal's crediting page shows IUL Flex II's S&P 500 account at an 8.50% cap with 100% participation and a 0% floor (9/12/2026 segment, Principal). The guaranteed minimum cap is not publicly disclosed, and loan rates and rider terms are not on that page; ask for all three on an illustration.

The lesson in the numbers: the lowest current cap in our set, so the guaranteed terms matter even more. Ask what the cap can fall to.

Own Principal?

Get your policy graded.

Send your email and I'll send the in-force illustration request letter. Return it and I'll grade the policy within one business day.

We’ll email it to you. Hans Goldstein · NPN 20602398.

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar.

Guarantees: UL Flex III and SUL Provider

Who Principal fits


Hans Goldstein, NPN 20602398

Own a Principal policy, or comparing one?

Send the policy or quote. Within one business day you get a written read on the Goldstein Index and two alternatives.

Rather talk it through? Or book 15 minutes on Hans’s calendar, or call 213-414-2808.

Hans Goldstein · 213-414-2808 · NPN 20602398, independent licensed insurance producer

Frequently asked questions

Is Principal a good life insurance company?
Principal Life holds an AM Best A+ rating, stable, affirmed April 28, 2026.
Does Principal still sell individual life insurance?
Yes. Principal sells universal life, indexed universal life and survivorship guaranteed UL, with a focus on business owners.
What is the Principal IUL Flex II cap?
8.50% on the S&P 500 account at 100% participation, with a 0% floor, for the September 12, 2026 segment. The guaranteed minimum cap is not publicly disclosed.
Does Principal sell survivorship guaranteed UL?
Yes. Survivorship UL Provider offers an optional extended no-lapse guarantee to the younger insured's age 100.
Is Principal good for buy-sell agreements?
Its products are built around guarantees and business uses. Coordinate the agreement with your attorney and CPA.

Sources

  1. AM Best: Principal Life Insurance Company rating (4/28/2026)
  2. Principal IUL Flex II S&P 500 Price Return account cap (as of 2026-09)
  3. Principal Universal Life Flex III was repriced for new issues effective January 2, 2026, with the optional Extended No-Lapse Guarantee rider now running to a maximum age 100; issue ages 0-80, target market ages 45-75, approved in all states (as of 2026-01)
  4. Principal Survivorship Universal Life Provider offers an optional extended no-lapse guarantee to the younger insured's age 100; youngest insured issue ages 20-80, second insured to age 90 (any class from Preferred to Uninsurable); minimum face $250,000; approved in all states (as of 2026-02)
  5. Principal UL Provider Edge II is no longer available after January 30, 2026 (December 31, 2025 in New York) (as of 2026-01)

Hans Goldstein, CA Insurance License #4273294 · NPN 20602398 · Goldstein & Co. LLC dba Goldstein Insurance Services, CA License #6016830

Contact: hans@hansgoldstein.com · 213-414-2808

General education, not tax or legal advice. Tax treatment depends on your facts and on current law, which can change. Talk to your CPA or estate attorney. Guarantees are backed by the financial strength and claims-paying ability of the issuing insurance company. Guarantees apply only to the contractual terms of the policy. Caps, participation rates, loan rates, charges and dividends are not guaranteed and can change. Hans is paid a commission by the insurer if you buy a policy through him. For life insurance, ask and he will tell you what he earns on your specific policy. Product and company names are trademarks of their owners. Goldstein Insurance Services is an independent agency, not affiliated with or endorsed by any insurer named here. Life insurance requires underwriting; not everyone qualifies. This page describes products in general terms; read the policy and the insurer's disclosures before you buy.

📞 Call Hans · 213-414-2808
Get a second opinion Call 213-414-2808